The Old Boy's Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This is a great recipe, but depends on many variables. First, you gotta have a good pastry recipe. Second, you gotta have good berries! If they're tiny and sweet, then halve the thickener. I thought my results were heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michaela

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Georgia, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
This pie is simple and so, so delicious! The ingredients and amounts are perfect! My family loved it. I'm making it again this weekend for our family reunion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silsbee, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
BEST STRAWBERRY PIE EVER!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I was so excited to try this with fresh picked strawberries. We were disappointed. Way too sweet and clumpy (if there is such a word) for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Delicious. Followed many other reviews and did the following: Replaced white sugar with brown for the topping. Did NOT use all the thickening mixture--maybe only half. Used a little less white sugar (for filling) than recommended--I like a tarter pie. Just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Don't you hate it when people change the recipe & then rate it poorly? No worries on this review...made this today for Father's Day, didn't change a thing...BEST STRAWBERRY PIE EVER! No spillovers, perfect sweetness...just all-round yummy. Rave reviews from everyone...my new go-to pie recipe...would work great with many fruits. Thank you so much for a simple, delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFWife88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
A bit hit, husband didn't touch the store bought apple pie, but finished this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Photo by NOMOREOUT2EAT
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I made this pie exactly as it's written and it's incredible! The topping is amazing and I think it would be sad not to try it as written before changing it to a crumble. It's so good. Make sure to use very ripe strawberries to create the best flavor. Just made another for a friend just because i love making it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I was skeptical of this recipe, especially after I put the topping on, because it looked like way too much, but it baked up beautifully! I used 2 pounds of strawberries, which I cut into hunks. I used only 4 Tbs. butter in the topping, which I cut into the flour/sugar with a pastry blender, and I used the other 2 Tbs. butter to dot on top. Be sure to place a pan underneath the pie pan, because it will definitely spill over. Great recipe!! Even more delicious served warm with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Turned out great! Reminds me of a strawberry cobbler
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States