The Old Boy's Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
this pie is fantastic! try using brown sugar when it calls for white sugar, or try Splenda for baking. Decrease flour/sugar/cornstarch mix for coating berries to 1/4c./1/4c./no cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
The crumb topping was very tasty. The filling did not come out that great. This was my first time making strawberry pie, so I wasn't sure how to adjust it but the filling just tasted a little bit too "floury" to us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
This pie was very good and easy to make. I used a streusal topping. As soon as my daughter had one bite, she said that this is going to be her favorite pie now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I accidentally reviewed this recipe instead of another, and am unable to delete a rating/review completely off the system, so I gave it a 4 star to be consistent with it's current average score.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Never made a fruit pie using anything but apples but this was a pleasant surprise. Family loved it with whipped cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS! I chopped the strawberries up (recipe gave me the impression that they remained whole) and followed recipe as is. Tart and sweet at the same time - perfection! Will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JayViolet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weehawken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Not a big hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Has a really good taste. Took others' advice and used the brown sugar/oatmeal topping..very worth it! And threw away the extra cornstarch mixture, and it wasn't soupy at all. It doesn't cut well at all. More like a very good strawberry cobbler. But tastey, and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOKEDONJESUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
There was way too much flour and sugar in the filling, and the crumb topping ended up as if it had never been baked, dry and flavorless. The filling tasted raw and floury. I've baked many a pie in my day, but none ever turned out quite this disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
My husband and son both thought this was one of the best desserts I have ever made. A homemade crust is a must. If you don't like strawberry jam, you won't like this. I used a bag of frozen strawberries--let them thaw, drained them and they were ready to use in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States