The Old Boy's Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I made this pie for my anniversary dinner with my husband and it was delectable! I did use 1/2 C of brown sugar in the topping as per other suggestions. I wasn't sure if I should serve it hot or cold, so I chose cold with vanilla ice cream. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I had never made a "real pie" from scratch before, but I found a whole case of strawberries for $10 the other day, so I made one for us and one for our neighbors...THIS PIE WAS AWESOME, and so SIMPLE to make! I'll be making lots more, and am going to make with different kinds of berries....GREAT PIE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhondamich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niles, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
wow. this makes an excellent pie. i added a pinch of cinnamon and 1/2 cup of oatmeal to the topping. other than this, i followed the recipe exactly. the strawberries had just a hint of tart to them, the topping balanced it well. the way the berries cooked made an awesome filling. i will be making this again for guests at our cookout this weekend. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
I followed the recommendations of others, adding a few extra spices and making an oatmeal/brown sugar topping. So delicious! My entire family had seconds after a big meal and that never happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Texastwinkie
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
It looks beautiful, smells wonderful and the taste is exceptional! The only changes I made were to add a pinch of cinnamon along with the nutmeg. Perfection in a pie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texastwinkie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
We really enjoyed this. I'd describe it as a strawberry crumble pie. I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and was very happy with the results. First, I substituted brown sugar for the white sugar for the topping. 2. I discarded all excess sugar, flour, and cornstarch after coating strawberries. 3. I used a pinch of cinnamon instead of nutmeg. We enjoyed it warm with a dallop of whipped cream for the first slice but I definately preferred it chilled the next day. Thanks for a great recipe we'll make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
The pie was excellent. I added more strawberries to the pie and it became more robust with fruit flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Taste was superb even with modifications: whole wheat flour, sugar substitute instead of sugar and quart of sliced strawberries and a pint of blueberries, as didn't have enough strawberries. The pie wasn't too sweet or sour, not soupy - just great consistancy and tasty - from someone who rarely makes pies. My tween asked for this each night for dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Well,I haven't actually tried it yet,I'll be lucky if I get to,I made it for my dad today and my mom said,'It's good but sure is 'SWEET'! I can't say I blame her for the amount of sugar there is in the directions but there is only a little bit of slice of this 'old boy's pie' for me so you get the idea on this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Great recipe but it turned out more like a cobbler. otherwise great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marissa_garcia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States