The Mushroom Steak Stuff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
This sounds so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lou

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Syosset, New York, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Deeeeeeelicous....used cheddar in place of feta, as that is all I had on hand. Will definitely try feta next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Made this last nite. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laidback

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I tried this recipe after buying all the ingredients it called for. It wasn't difficult to make, but after reading it I thought it sounded fantastic. I was not impressed. I followed the recipe exactly, so not sure what happened...I thought it didn't have enough sauce for one thing...I might try it again though -my husband and youngest daughter both liked it. (Might just be personal taste? I love feta cheese but am not used to feta and steak...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
wow!! fantastic, and I was a little surprised that it all blended so well. Personally the serving size was too large but that doesn't reflect the recipe itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Groton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
The was DELICIOUS! I wondered a little at the combinations of ginger, mustard, cream, red wine, and feta, but it tastes wonderful. My husband said it was the best pasta he's ever had. And don't skip the bacon on top...it adds the perfect finishing touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Merrill, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
This is an excellent recipe! It was quick, easy and delicious. It seemed a bit salty, but that was okay because I love salt. My husband is the one who mentioned that. It was very rich and very filling. The next time I make it, though, I won't pair it with the pasta. I think it would be paired better with a baked potato, but is just my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I made this with brown rice last night because I didn't have the pasta and I had to use up some steaks and mushrooms. I'm SO glad I did, my husband and I loved it and we're still talking about it. Followed the recipe for the mushroom stuff to a t, it was great with rice. I put green onions over the top of everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Lash

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
The recipe was perfect ! I didn't have any Marsala wine so substituted a sweet white wine that I had on hand, dried ginger and half and half. I also just added the bacon and heated through since I didn't want to waste the energy to heat up the oven for such a short cooking time. My husband doesn't care for feta but he ate this and loved it! Will be making this recipe a staple in my recipe box!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
So I have never reviewed anything before but just had to on this one! I was a little worried about this dish since we are not big mushroom people but it turned out awesome!!! Will definitely make it again and again! We did do a couple things different: 1. Expensive cuts like sirloin not necessary- we used cube steak because that was what we had in the freezer. Turned out great! 2. We cut the steak into bit size piece vs the thin slices. Made it nice to cook and easier to eat. We also cooked the meat in the bacon fat and added a tbsp of butter at the end for flavor. 3. We chopped the mushrooms in a food processor. Made then into tiny pieces which is easier for non-mushroom lovers to eat. Had to add a little extra wine to the mix to cook. 4. Used penne pasta because it was smaller. The rigatoni at the store was huge. A couple changes we will make next time: 1. Worcestershire sauce when cooking the meat. Just for a little extra flavor. 2. Add steamed broccoli to the oven mix for a veggie component.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Flank Steak Marinade

What's cooking in Detroit? A flank steak marinade to wow them at the grill.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States