The Mushroom Steak Stuff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This was fantastic! I skipped the bacon, subbed what I had on hand ( dijon instead of yellow, ground ginger, half-half instead of the cream, all red wine), and served it with a side of mashed potatoes instead of the pasta. Will try it next time with a little less butter, otherwise, a total winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Oh my goodness is this amazing! There are so many flavors here...and they all work together! What a fantastic addition to my recipe box...thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I would've given this 3 stars, but I think the few modifications I made contributed to the not-so-great results. I made it as written, except substitued fat free half-n-half for the cream (just what I had on hand), powdered ginger for fresh, and too much mustard (accidentally). I also used proscuitto for the bacon, which was a plus. Unfortunately, the sauce would not properly combine. The butter was floating on top, even after simmering for the full time, and even after it baked in the oven. It was way too mustardy (my fault) and just seemed to have too many strong flavors for one dish. I think it could have been better if I made it exactly as written, but still not a keeper for me. It was fun to try, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I was nervous about making this for my husband because he's not a big fan of fetta cheese. He really enjoyed this dish anyway. I think its spectacular, I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Make sure not to overcook the meat. I think using a Dijon mustard would have been a better choice for this recipe. I used dried ginger in place of the fresh because I was short on time. I settled on using a feta that had bits of sun-dried tomato in it. I thought it was just okay, my hubby-to-be loved it. May or may not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
My picky son said this steak is great, something he NEVER says about a new dish. The only thing I changed was that I added 1/4 cup chopped scallions. This is definitely going on the regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
So I have never reviewed anything before but just had to on this one! I was a little worried about this dish since we are not big mushroom people but it turned out awesome!!! Will definitely make it again and again! We did do a couple things different: 1. Expensive cuts like sirloin not necessary- we used cube steak because that was what we had in the freezer. Turned out great! 2. We cut the steak into bit size piece vs the thin slices. Made it nice to cook and easier to eat. We also cooked the meat in the bacon fat and added a tbsp of butter at the end for flavor. 3. We chopped the mushrooms in a food processor. Made then into tiny pieces which is easier for non-mushroom lovers to eat. Had to add a little extra wine to the mix to cook. 4. Used penne pasta because it was smaller. The rigatoni at the store was huge. A couple changes we will make next time: 1. Worcestershire sauce when cooking the meat. Just for a little extra flavor. 2. Add steamed broccoli to the oven mix for a veggie component.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
The recipe was perfect ! I didn't have any Marsala wine so substituted a sweet white wine that I had on hand, dried ginger and half and half. I also just added the bacon and heated through since I didn't want to waste the energy to heat up the oven for such a short cooking time. My husband doesn't care for feta but he ate this and loved it! Will be making this recipe a staple in my recipe box!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I made this with brown rice last night because I didn't have the pasta and I had to use up some steaks and mushrooms. I'm SO glad I did, my husband and I loved it and we're still talking about it. Followed the recipe for the mushroom stuff to a t, it was great with rice. I put green onions over the top of everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Lash

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
This is an excellent recipe! It was quick, easy and delicious. It seemed a bit salty, but that was okay because I love salt. My husband is the one who mentioned that. It was very rich and very filling. The next time I make it, though, I won't pair it with the pasta. I think it would be paired better with a baked potato, but is just my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Flank Steak Marinade

What's cooking in Detroit? A flank steak marinade to wow them at the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States