The Most Incredible Garlic Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
This was really good. I used a large loaf of Italian Ciabatta bread cut in half. I used 3X the amount of garlic and I still think it needed more. The trick to getting the cream cheese and oil to mix is to do it in a food processor. Add the cream cheese and herbs and start pulsing, then very slowly add in the oil while pulsing the machine. If you do it right, the oil and cream cheese will form an emulsion and will not separate. I will make it again, but next time I think I will add feta cheese and garlic salt, it was just missing that extra punch of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I had a half a loaf of french bread to use up and made pasta for dinner. This bread was really good. After reading reviews, some had trouble with mixing the olive oil and cream cheese. I decided to drizzle oil on the bread first, then spread the mixture and broil. Since my bread slices were small it only took a few minutes on low to melt. I also drizzled a small amount of olive oil and grated parmesan after coming out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
Definitely one of my favorite garlic bread recipes! I stuck the cream cheese mixture in the frig. for a little while. It mixed a lot easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leakey, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
Very tasty garlic bread! However, my experience tonight is that cream cheese and olive oil just don't mix. It was impossible to get the mixture "smooth" - even using the electic mixer, once you stop mixing, it immediately begins to separate. Not sure if there's anything to be done about that. Anyway, that being said, it still tasted delicious and was an excellent accompaniment to our spaghetti dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Very good bread! I only had extra virgin olive oil, and I was afraid that the flavor from that would be too strong, so I decided to use half softened butter and half olive oil and the results were DELICIOUS!!! Creamy, buttery, cheesy goodness! I will be using this recipe a lot, I'm sure! Thanks for posting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
I used a Sour Dough loaf and 1 Cup melted butter instead of Olive Oil and I just heated the bread until it was hot and bubbly instead of broiling it. It was a delicious combination of flavors! It all got gobbled up at my Easter dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
The best garlic bread I have ever tasted!!!! amazing buttery garlicky cheesy..there's nothing like it anywhere, I will be making this over and over again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I cut this recipe in half and used day-old ciabatta loaves that I bought off the clearance rack. I thought this might not work......I was kind of iffy about the ingredients and how good they would taste. The kids and I loved it though my husband was kind of on the fence about it. Not as hard as I thought it would be and using the day-old bread worked out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I used a loaf of soft Italian bread instead of French bread and it turned out perfect under the broiler. I also didn't have oregano or parsley on hand, so I substituted with a teaspoon of Italian seasoning. Like others said, the oil didn't mix completely with the cream cheese, and I was a little concerned about drizzling MORE oil on top, but everything combined well in the oven. Definitely as good or better than frozen garlic bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Yum, yum, yum! I cut a loaf of bread horizantally instead of slicing it. I had no problems mixing my oil with the cream cheese, guess I'm lucky. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States