The Most Incredible Garlic Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This had to be by far the best garlic bread ever! The only thing I changed was that I used Italien Bread instead and just made big slices. Me and my finace' both agreed that this will be made again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vixen_with_velocity

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Very good bread! I only had extra virgin olive oil, and I was afraid that the flavor from that would be too strong, so I decided to use half softened butter and half olive oil and the results were DELICIOUS!!! Creamy, buttery, cheesy goodness! I will be using this recipe a lot, I'm sure! Thanks for posting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Yummy delicious! All of these comments on husband didn't like, bf likes, who cares. If they make it, then they can rate their own cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Yum, yum, yum! I cut a loaf of bread horizantally instead of slicing it. I had no problems mixing my oil with the cream cheese, guess I'm lucky. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
We enjoyed this very much. I have no idea how many ounces were in my loaf, so I used half the amount of olive oil. I used whipped cream cheese spread, and preroasted minced garlic. EDIT: 11/12/09 I don't bother making any other kind of garlic bread anymore. I don't measure it, I just whip the ingredients together with the cream cheese and smear it on. I use all sorts of bread. Sometimes I think about trying another kind of garlic bread...but then I think, "This recipe needs cream cheese..." and I come back to this one over and over. The original amount of "stuff" for 1 lb of bread is still too much, IMO, but that's easily remedied by just..not putting as thick a layer on :) EDIT: Footnote...Use a fork to mix the cream cheese & olive oil. Smash the cream cheese with the tines of the fork, this even works with cold brick-style cream cheese. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This was so-so. I really enjoy garlic bread, but thought the preparation method (and taste) to be mediocre compared to my "stand by" recipe. I think it was the cream cheese.... My bf didn't care for this either (but he doesn't care for cream cheese...). I halved lalala71's recipe (cut about 6 slices of bread from a 16 oz. French loaf). I did use 3 oz. of cream cheese (1/2 the recipe would have called for 2 oz., but since I had a 3 oz. block on hand, I used all of it) and a full tablespoon of garlic because we LOVE a strong garlic flavor. I have one suggestion for anyone trying this. I found that softening my cream cheese in the microwave first, then adding it (and the spices/garlic) to my food processor and pulsing as I slowly poured in the olive oil kept my spread from separating as others have mentioned. Oh, and I don't think the olive oil "drizzle" is necessary (don't waste good olive oil for this, IMHO). An overall neat idea, but not for me/us. Thanks anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
The addition of cream cheese to this was like texture heaven for me. So creamy and really great flavor. I'll make this again, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I love this but my husband thinks it is just pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet_cuppin_cakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I really liked it. It was a little heavy with the pasta dish I made, but i would make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Beth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Very good. Different is what the bf said. I agree; not my usual method of making garlic bread with cream cheese. We both liked it though. Put the mixture on Oat-Bran Bread I'd made a few days ago. Very nice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States