The Most Incredible Garlic Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Made this with Mother's Day dinner. It was a HUGE hit!!! Love, love, loved it and will most definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This is awesome garlic bread. I used 8 ounces of cream cheese and added a little less than 1/2 cup olive oil to it and had no problem getting it to blend smoothly and it never did separate, even when stored in fridge for days. I put some of the cream cheese mixture on a kaiser roll, broiled until bubbly, topped with some sliced rotisserie chicken, parmesan cheese, drizzle with 1 tablespoon olive oil, and then back until broiler until browned. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Hepler

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This had to be by far the best garlic bread ever! The only thing I changed was that I used Italien Bread instead and just made big slices. Me and my finace' both agreed that this will be made again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Paffel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Very good bread! I only had extra virgin olive oil, and I was afraid that the flavor from that would be too strong, so I decided to use half softened butter and half olive oil and the results were DELICIOUS!!! Creamy, buttery, cheesy goodness! I will be using this recipe a lot, I'm sure! Thanks for posting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Yummy delicious! All of these comments on husband didn't like, bf likes, who cares. If they make it, then they can rate their own cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Yum, yum, yum! I cut a loaf of bread horizantally instead of slicing it. I had no problems mixing my oil with the cream cheese, guess I'm lucky. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
We enjoyed this very much. I have no idea how many ounces were in my loaf, so I used half the amount of olive oil. I used whipped cream cheese spread, and preroasted minced garlic. EDIT: 11/12/09 I don't bother making any other kind of garlic bread anymore. I don't measure it, I just whip the ingredients together with the cream cheese and smear it on. I use all sorts of bread. Sometimes I think about trying another kind of garlic bread...but then I think, "This recipe needs cream cheese..." and I come back to this one over and over. The original amount of "stuff" for 1 lb of bread is still too much, IMO, but that's easily remedied by just..not putting as thick a layer on :) EDIT: Footnote...Use a fork to mix the cream cheese & olive oil. Smash the cream cheese with the tines of the fork, this even works with cold brick-style cream cheese. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This was so-so. I really enjoy garlic bread, but thought the preparation method (and taste) to be mediocre compared to my "stand by" recipe. I think it was the cream cheese.... My bf didn't care for this either (but he doesn't care for cream cheese...). I halved lalala71's recipe (cut about 6 slices of bread from a 16 oz. French loaf). I did use 3 oz. of cream cheese (1/2 the recipe would have called for 2 oz., but since I had a 3 oz. block on hand, I used all of it) and a full tablespoon of garlic because we LOVE a strong garlic flavor. I have one suggestion for anyone trying this. I found that softening my cream cheese in the microwave first, then adding it (and the spices/garlic) to my food processor and pulsing as I slowly poured in the olive oil kept my spread from separating as others have mentioned. Oh, and I don't think the olive oil "drizzle" is necessary (don't waste good olive oil for this, IMHO). An overall neat idea, but not for me/us. Thanks anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
The addition of cream cheese to this was like texture heaven for me. So creamy and really great flavor. I'll make this again, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I love this but my husband thinks it is just pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet_cuppin_cakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States