The Most Incredible Garlic Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
My opinion: way too much olive oil & maybe too much cream cheese for the amount of bread. Otherwise...delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
1 cup of olive oil for one loaf of bread! Yikes! No wonder people had problems with trying to blend it with the cream cheese. I used about a 1/4 cup of olive oil and stirred it into room temp cream cheese. This recipe seems more tedious than it needs to be. I didn't bother with the heating of the garlic and it would be much easier to slather the cream cheese on a loaf that is sliced in half horizontally rather than each individual slice. I actually used the cream cheese mixture on a thin crust pizza shell, so that I could slice it into wedges and serve as an appetizer. Definitely needs more garlic in order to be a garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
While we enjoyed this one overall, it needs a lot more garlic, and I even used a garlic cream cheese blend rather than plain cream cheese. I would also just go with the oregano, leaving out the basil and parsley. I liked the taste of the olive oil in the cheese mix, but the drizzle over top made it too dominant a flavor in the end, so I would leave that off as well. With those few tweaks, I will make this again. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I made this for some dinner guests. They all loved it and asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This was excellent! I did not have a problem with the oil mixing, so maybe I was lucky. The only thing I will try different is put a little more garlic flavor in the next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I really didn't care for this, sorry. I didn't like the taste of the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I wish I could give this negative star as cream cheese just does not work on garlic bread....worst darn garlic bread I ever had in my life. I had to make a batch of good old reliable garlic bread as no one liked the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This was delicious. I made about 6 servings. It called for about 1/2 c. olive oil, which I felt was too much (I wanted to make the recipe a little healthier). I used only about 2 tbsp for the entire recipe. I also used ciabatta bread instead of French (personal preference), dried parsley instead of fresh (I didn't have fresh on hand), low-fat cream cheese, and a mixture of Parmesan, Romano, and Asiago cheese instead of just Parmesan. Once the garlic cooked in the olive oil, I poured all the olive oil and garlic into the cream cheese mixture as well as the 3-cheese mixture (instead of adding during broiling). I sliced the bread lengthwise into 2 pieces, spread half the mixture on each slice (I didn't add any additional olive oil) and broiled it for about 5 minutes. The edges of the bread started to brown sooner than I hoped, so I moved the pan down to a lower oven rack to let the cheese mixture melt a little more. I served it with homemade manicotti and my husband and I loved it! We will definitely add this to our permanent dinner list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This is truly an amazing recipe, DH doesn't like cream cheese, but he just loved this bread. I made my own french bread, sliced it in half, spread the olive oil on the bread and broiled it for a few minutes until the top started to get dry, then pulled it out and spread on the cream cheese and sprinkled it with Parmesan. It's definitely a keeper, thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pefferlaw, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
very tasty...something a bit different from the everyday variety garlic bread....!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Lynn

Displaying results 11-20 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States