The Meatball that Fell Off the Table Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
Currently, my husband and I are on the South Beach Diet, phase 1. I did not change anything in this recipe except I omitted the bread crumbs. These were fantastic and had such a great, different flavor. I served it with salad and mixed green beans in with the cream of mushroom soup. Delish! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAISYTAZZY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Absolutely loved these!! I used dijon mustard also. They were so good. I had never made anything like these before. Definitely will keep this one on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
5-star for my family! These were easy to make and not a single thing left over! GREAT flavor!! My 1 and 2 yr old ate every bite! My husband skipped the gravy and dipped in spicy A-1 (with Tabasco added)...mmm, think I might add a dash or two to the mix next time for even more flavor! Thanks for sharing such a simple and delicious recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Delicious! The family loved these meatballs served over smashed potatoes. Too bad there wasn't more gravy! I used Amy's organic mushroom soup and added some sour cream. I did also substitute freshly ground and toasted oats for the bread crumbs because that is what I had available. Overall, excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Not sure why everyone is raving about these meatballs. I found them to be very dry and tasteless. There is way too much bread crumbs. They have the potential to be good meatballs with some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pennington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
Very flavorful meatballs! I used ground turkey and chose to stuff them with swiss cheese and mushrooms so left out the egg and breadcrumbs so it would be easier to handle. For the sauce, I used the can of cream of chicken soup, 1 1/4 cups sour cream, 1/2-3/4 cup milk, 2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce, salt, parsley and 1/3 cup white wine. Really delicious! I'll make them again with the egg and bread crumb. They're kind of like swedish meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I was disappointed of this recipe after reading the rave reviews... I used some leftover meat needed to cook up and maybe it wasn't a full pound because these meatballs were VERY dry. My husband said they were fine but I couldn't finish mine. The flavor seemed nice (I only put about 1/2 tsp. nutmeg spice and there was a nice sweet flavor about them) but I wouldn't make it again without adding more egg or less breadcrumbs or something. I used very finely ground breadcrumbs, so that may have been the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
I baked these in a 425 degree oven rather than frying them... and I left out the sauce... but my family LOVED them! I made them about a month ago, and am going to make them again tonight! Thank you so much!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
I'm a new wife and made these for my husband over noodles. He asked me where I bought the meatballs. When I said I made them, He gave me a high five across the table. I made a smaller version of the recipe for the 2 of us, but they were still wonderful. I browned them in a frying pan, but then put them in a small casserole dish, added the soup, and them left them in the oven for a few hours on low. Still wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sbruins79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waupun, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I love this recipe! I have made them several times, and I took them to a luncheon last week and was asked for the recipe several times. Thank you for the great recipe! PS Love the name!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States