The Meatball that Fell Off the Table Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I didn't have time to saute the onions so I threw them in raw. I cut back on the nutmeg (not a huge fan) and omitted the parsley (hate it). The meatballs turned out a bit dense and stodgy but that was my fault for being heavy-handed with the mixing/rolling. This was a decent meal, but I think I prefer meatballs in a tomato/marinara sauce. Thanks though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
These were good. The coriander and nutmeg add an interesting sweet flavor to the meatballs. Hubby and I both felt like they were missing salt. I used minced garlic rather than garlic salt, and didn't want to add too much salt since condensed soups are known for being salty. I'll make these again though, I'll just add a bit more salt. I used two cans of cream of mushroom soup, some milk and a little sour cream for the sauce. We'll have this again, and hopefully the baby will fell well enough to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Awsome recipe.. the only thing I did different was to use half ground turkey and half lean ground beef, parmesan bread crumbs, a little bit of cayenne pepper and a ton more garlic. I baked instead of cooking them in a pan because I doubled the recipe and they wouldn't fit in the pan. I made a pan full of HUGE meatballs and my boyfriend literally ate almost the entire thing.. no joke. I served over mashed potatos with peas. Good comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
These meatballs were amazing. I followed the exact recipe, and the only reason I give it 4 stars was because of the sauce. I thought it was a little thick, and could use a little improving, but it was terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I followed this exactly as written and it turned out great. I used a cookie scoop to form the meatballs and served it over egg noodles. My two boys, 6yrs and 2.5yrs, have never been so quiet at dinner. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palos Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I loved this recipe!! It was such a hit with the whole family. Instead of coriander I added honey mustard and the recipe said to add one can of cream of mushroom but I did too to have more sauce for the noodles. Once you try this recipe you will never make meatballs any other way! DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trisha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I am a nutmeg lover, but thought it gave the meatballs a strange taste when combined with the cream of mushroom soup. I'll stick with my old meatball recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Thsi recipe was very easy and quick. I should have baked the meatballs as the other reviewers suggested, and I also used 1/2 tsp. of nutmeg, but I could still taste it, and really didn't care for it. I added Worcestershire sauce, also. Otherwise, the meatballs were good and my husband and two year old had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Hill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This was great and pretty easy to make.I followed exactly what the recipe called for and served with mashed potatoes. Will definetly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Much too much nutmeg for my taste, but otherwise good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States