The Meatball that Fell Off the Table Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This has great potential with some modifications. Seasoned bread crumbs add an additional light flavour, using fresh minced garlic instead of garlic salt reduced sodium and gives it a more "fresh" taste, one tablespoon of dried parsley is just as good as the fresh in a pinch, nutmeg is a strong spice so it should be used lightly (I recommend half a teaspoon or a little less than that for the amount of meat in this recipe). Also, one can of the soup isn't enough to make a creamy sauce. This sauce would fair better with two cans of soup, half-one can equal amounts red wine and water, as well as some additional sauteed mushrooms. Onto the cooking method... I chose to make them at 400F for 10-15 minutes, flipped them over and then cooked another 10-15 minutes. Whisked together the ingredients for the sauce and poured it over the meatballs after they were nicely cooked; placed the pan back in the oven and cooked it until the sauce bubbled. Tossed everything over egg noodles and it was a nice meal. As previously mentioned, more sauce is necessary to coat the dish sufficiently. Pairs well with a crisp, green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This dish was great! My husband and kids loved it. Next time, I am going to add more sauce and some fresh mushrooms to it. I am not a fan of nutmeg but it was very mild. Can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
The meatballs are wonderful but we felt like the sauce was lacking. I ended up adding an additional can of golden mushroom soup and a dash of worsh. sauce. We really enjoyed it with that modification. I also served over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Photo by sunshine
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I thought this recipe was amazing, I changed a few things I only added half the nutmeg, I added dry mustard powder and the corriander, I added a tbs. of soya sauce, I added about a tbs. of parmesean cheese, I added Italian bread crumbs instead of plain. For the sauce I used 2 cans of mushroom soup and added half can of water half a can of milk so the sauce wasnt as thick but it still thickened up, I baked my meatballs in the oven instead of frying them and added the sauce on top and baked until it was bubbly...I served it over egg noodles and it was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wolfville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Goderich, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This recipe was a hit with my entire family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This recipe is great! So easy to make! I actually used the meatball mixture to stuff green and red peppers then baked in the oven, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bobo's Mama
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
A good easy recipe. Hubby doesn't like "creamy" gravies so I made a simple brown gravy. It tasted excellent over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobo's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Utica, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
This recipe is a good start but I feel needs a little work. I wil try making these again but I would only put 1/4 of the numeg called for. I am not a HUGE nutmeg fan, I believe it can add a lot to a recipe and can also be unforgiving if to much is added. Thanx for the recipe I will try them again with a few changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I made these meatballs last night. I definitely liked the nutmeg in them but it lacked something else. There wasn't much else in flavor. Maybe they just need garlic, I don't know. We just didn't care for them too much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Long Valley, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
When ever I make this I always get huge reviews. People always call me the next day and ask me for the recipe. I used local wild mushrooms for extra flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Meatball Sandwich

See how to make a quick-and-easy meatball sandwich.

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States