The Meatball that Fell Off the Table Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Great flavored meatballs. Easy to make. Nice weeknight dinner that even the picky 8 year old liked! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
The flavor was great! I made it "as is" but it came out a little dry. I made over rice, but didn't have enough of the "sauce" to drizzle over the rice. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charaya
Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I wasn't expecting much but WOW, was I impressed. I didn't use Coriander, not a fan but I used 1 tsp of dijon like others suggested and much less nutmeg. I did leave the drippings from the meatballs in the pan when I added the Cream of Mushroom. I added about 2 tbs of sour cream. This was delicious and I will make it again. The meatballs were so moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Branch, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I just have to say that this was a big hit with my 4 yr old daughter...Just the name of the dish alone made her giggle...:) The taste was very nice thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I was looking for a recipe for swedish type meatballs to serve with noodles and this is the one! I prepared a day ahead so that I could reheat for dinner the next night and this worked fine. I used the nutmeg as called for in the recipe and quite liked it. I subbed dried parsley for fresh as I didn't have any and I used golden mushroom soup. I also added about 1/2 cup of sour cream and a little worchestershire sauce to the sauce/gravy.....a little extra water too as I was really trying to stretch the sauce. I will definitely make this again and I will double the sauce next time. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janmarie1964

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Apalachin, New York, USA
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
We had a big crowd to feed tonight so I doubled the meatballs (with only a pinch of nutmeg and added a splash of cream) and tripled the sauce. Sauted the onions until tender and set aside. Sauted approx. 12 oz. sliced button mushrooms in small amount of butter in same pan until dry, added a splash of white wine and continued to cook until all liquid evaporated and set the mushrooms aside. Put the soup in the pan and added milk (to desired consistancy)instead of water and added about 1/4 cup of beef stock. Returned the meatballs to the sauce and simmered until the rest of dinner was ready. Served over wide egg noddles with corn and dinner rolls. Everyone loved these meatballs and asked that they be added to the rotation. This is a very easy recipe with exceptional results. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
My 4 kids, fight over the leftovers. We love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LimeGreenKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manning, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
AMAZING recipe. I have tried endless times to get this consistency and taste for me meatballs... amazing really! Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dann345

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This has great potential with some modifications. Seasoned bread crumbs add an additional light flavour, using fresh minced garlic instead of garlic salt reduced sodium and gives it a more "fresh" taste, one tablespoon of dried parsley is just as good as the fresh in a pinch, nutmeg is a strong spice so it should be used lightly (I recommend half a teaspoon or a little less than that for the amount of meat in this recipe). Also, one can of the soup isn't enough to make a creamy sauce. This sauce would fair better with two cans of soup, half-one can equal amounts red wine and water, as well as some additional sauteed mushrooms. Onto the cooking method... I chose to make them at 400F for 10-15 minutes, flipped them over and then cooked another 10-15 minutes. Whisked together the ingredients for the sauce and poured it over the meatballs after they were nicely cooked; placed the pan back in the oven and cooked it until the sauce bubbled. Tossed everything over egg noodles and it was a nice meal. As previously mentioned, more sauce is necessary to coat the dish sufficiently. Pairs well with a crisp, green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This dish was great! My husband and kids loved it. Next time, I am going to add more sauce and some fresh mushrooms to it. I am not a fan of nutmeg but it was very mild. Can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States