The Meatball that Fell Off the Table Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
My husband liked this recipe but I halved the nutmeg and tripled the gravy. I still thought it was terrible and the nutmeg overpowering. I didn't finish what was on my plate. =( It looked so good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This recipe is 5 star worthy with a few modifications. I didn't have coriander so I added about a tbsp of fresh lemon juice. Also added about 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper and about 1 tbsp of minced garlic to the onions. For the cream of mushroom sauce I made my own soup (using Dianne's recipe which is Amazing). I added several splashes of red wine to the sauce and also about 1/3 cup sour cream. We will definetly be making this one again and soon! Thanks for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
A Defininte at my house, even the pickey eater ate them, but minus the sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
My mom made this recipe growing up and it is my all-time favorite meal, served over mashed potatoes. I like gravy so I always use two cans of soup, and our recipe doesn't use nutmeg. I'll have to try baking the meatballs, since you do have to be attentive turning the meatballs as they brown on the stove top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was super yummy. The nutmeg made this recipe. We served over noodles... will definatley make this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShepR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Vernal, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
DEE-lish! My kiddos loved it and they are hard to please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmilyMarkmann
Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This was pretty good. My family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I found my meatballs to have way too much breadcrumbs, next time I think I will only use 3/4 cup. I also only used 1/4 tsp of nutmeg and used the full tsp of coriander. I had to add a splash of milk because of the breadcrumbs. Other than that they smelled awesome while I baked them, 425 oven for 18 min. They tasted bland coming out of the oven, maybe more garlic and onion. Once in the sauce they moistened up a bit, so it's not that I hated the recipe it is just I was really looking for a flavourful meatball before the sauce. Also with the sauce I added mini bella mushrooms sauted in butter, garlic and white wine. I added 2 cans of soup, a half can of milk and 1/2 cup of sour cream. I served over egg noodles. I will make this again, but with the same changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATWALK16

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Holy COW, these meatballs are awesome! I can't imagine letting one fall off the table. I doubled the recipe. I didn't have fresh parsley, so substituted 1 tsp dry for the 1 Tbsp fresh. Made this with the egg noodles. Great choice! My husband took a bite of the meatballs and said WOW! Which is a HUGE compliment coming from him. I will DEFINITELY make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
These are great......either with the mushroom soup or with spaghetti! The only meatball recipe I use now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States