The Irish Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This has become one of our favorites in the house. It is simple and basic in flavors, but absolutely delicious. The only thing different I do is to cut the butter in half and it still turns out creamy. And the paprika is definitely a must, just like Baking Nana said. Thank you Lilly for this 10 star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This really surprised me. It is very good. The only thing I did different was to season each layer of potatoes with salt and pepper& paprika - the paprika is NOT optional, at least in my opinion. Next time and YES, there will be a next time I might add some dried chives to the layers. Thanks - this was a tasty addition to our St. Patrick's Day dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Very bland, tasted them after baking and added cheddar cheese just to give them more flavor. I have other recipes similar to this one that I prefer. Thanks Allrecipes for your website. I will still be trying your recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Thanks for sharing Lilly from Philly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sooz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
My mother always made these and now I make them all the time! So easy and simple to make. I have made them with canned evaporated milk and shredded frozen hash brown potatoes and we thought they were just as good. If you use canned milk just keep in mind that it gives it a slighty different taste. My hubby actually likes them better with canned milk. These are a good side dish with just about anything but I always make these with meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Yes but have you tried it with spring cabbage.this also is irish once you have it you will want it again and again.Maureen from England.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I made this dish in honour of St.Patrick's Day. It was quite delicious! I added garlic salt to one layer and I substituted the whipping cream (as I didn't have any) with cream cheese, thinning it with a few tablespoons of milk. I was enjoyed by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I thought this was delicious and paired with a lean protein and some other veggies, isn't that out of line for a dinner as far as calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Made this for 6 adults, and this disappeared, nothing is left - it was a huge hit! I followed the advice of adding paprika with each layer, which worked out great. It's basic in flavors, which is why it's so good. The only thing I might do a bit different next time would be to very lightly sauté the onions before layering the dish. Thanks, I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
This is such a lovely and simple side dish. As others suggested, I sprinkled each layer with salt, pepper, paprika and minced fresh chives. YUMMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Hasselback Potatoes

Swedish version of baked potatoes, this is the ultimate spud: tender and crisp.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States