The Irish Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I used red potatoes and loved this recipe! It was rich and buttery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Made this for 6 adults, and this disappeared, nothing is left - it was a huge hit! I followed the advice of adding paprika with each layer, which worked out great. It's basic in flavors, which is why it's so good. The only thing I might do a bit different next time would be to very lightly sauté the onions before layering the dish. Thanks, I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Thanks for sharing Lilly from Philly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sooz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
These were really good! Very creamy! Great side dish to grilled steaks. We will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arich01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This really surprised me. It is very good. The only thing I did different was to season each layer of potatoes with salt and pepper& paprika - the paprika is NOT optional, at least in my opinion. Next time and YES, there will be a next time I might add some dried chives to the layers. Thanks - this was a tasty addition to our St. Patrick's Day dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This has become one of our favorites in the house. It is simple and basic in flavors, but absolutely delicious. The only thing different I do is to cut the butter in half and it still turns out creamy. And the paprika is definitely a must, just like Baking Nana said. Thank you Lilly for this 10 star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This is really good! Nice basic flavors, which make it a comforting dish. Only changes I make are using sweet onions, and adding a little cheddar cheese on top. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I made as directed and they came out perfect, although it never did bubble as the recipe stated. My family thoroughly enjoyed this dish. When I make again, I will be increasing the amount of onions, otherwise I will leave it as is. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Photo by SPIDERWIFE
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Unbelievably delicious!! A real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
My mother always made these and now I make them all the time! So easy and simple to make. I have made them with canned evaporated milk and shredded frozen hash brown potatoes and we thought they were just as good. If you use canned milk just keep in mind that it gives it a slighty different taste. My hubby actually likes them better with canned milk. These are a good side dish with just about anything but I always make these with meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Irish Feast

Serve up hearty traditional fare for St. Patrick's Day, and top with a toast!

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States