The Humble Shepherd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
this was very good just like mum use to make we have had two people make this and great both time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kenthurst, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
Excellent recipe. Thanks a lot for having this here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Ann Longoria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gonzales, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
This recipe is quick, easy, and delicious. Family loved it and I loved how easy it was to make. Thank you for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Easy to substitute with. I used frozen corn and some green pepper for the veggies. Also, I didn't have gravy mix...so I used a mix of BBQ sauce, whirschire sauce, and chiptole spice blend to mix into the meat mixture. The longer it sits the better. Great make ahead meal and reheat the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
Very good recipe and easy to make. I added garlic since I do to everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELA43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
My girlfriend and I love this recipe! Don't tell my Welsh mom, but I enjoy this shepherd as much as her original. Easy to mix it up a little - we use extra virgin olive oil instead of vegetable oil, use more vegetables than meat and potatoes, and throw in some garlic and white pepper. I am sure there are other fun combos you can make, but the base of this recipe is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
This was ok. It was easy to make and tasted ok, but not spectacular, I thought. It would be great with more spices or seasonings besides salt and pepper. Maybe some garlic and thyme or something. I will make this again adding more spices. I did use yukon gold potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPolencheck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
It was a quick & easy recipe. A friend was invited my husband I over for dinner, and this is what I brought. Everyone loved it. Though it feels like its missing something. I also added a layer of corn on top of the peas & carrots. Its a colorful dish, that's for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Meade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Kirtland Afb, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
This is great for a cold day! We've been making this for years and I love how you can prepare it ahead of time and bake later. It also transports well. I've found we enjoy it best with extra flavors mixed into the mashed potatoes (garlic, onion, chives, etc.) and use cheese lightly. :) Love the recipe Amanda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2007
Very good. I've made it twice now, and the only thing I did differently the second time was use less milk because the potatoes were a bit on the runny side the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiminnows

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States