The Humble Shepherd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
My husband and I thought this was good, but it lacked a lot of flavor. Next time, we'll attempt to make it with a bit more flair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I made this for dinner the other night to rave reviews. I made the following changes: -used one jar of prepared turkey gravy and omitted the water and gravy mix -used instant mashed potatoes (6 servings)prepared according to the box instructions -doubled the onion called for. -used mixed vegetable (corn, carrots, lima beans, peas) -added a spoonful of worschestshire -added rosemary and garlic -topped with one cup mild cheddar and broiled it until the chees was bubbly. We fought over the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desert Otter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
The Shepherd's pie was good. I used ground beef as opposed to turkey and it came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kassy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
i was skeptical at first about this recipe, but i was very pleasantly surprised! it is very easy to make and its delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akbecca81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Egegik, Alaska, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
We loved this, even my fussy toddler. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
My husband loves this! I changed a few things - Instead of gravy, I mixed the turkey with bbq sauce. I also added garlic to the mashed potatoes, and used corn as the vegetable. I topped with cheddar and colby. It was great. I love this recipe because it's easy to substitute what you've got on hand. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Good, but my husband wasn't crazy about it. He said not to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westwood, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I cheated and used instant potatoes, and I added garlic to the meat mixture. I also used one packet of instant mushroom gravy and on packet of country gravy. My fiance and I REALLY liked it, and it was a quick easy, weeknight meal. It is also a great recipe to "play" with. You could make it southwest style by seasoning the meat with taco seasoning and using pepper jack cheese and corn instead of peas and carrots, for example. So overall, a great recipe, especially for busy weeknights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraKKH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: White Stone, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I really enjoyed this recipe. I wanted to make something Irish inspired for my Irish husband on St. Patrick's Day. We aren't huge lamb or beef people, so this was the perfect alternative. I agree that just seasoning with salt and pepper would have been a bit too dull for us, so I added garlic and some Italian seasonings. It was just delicious and my husband and I enjoyed every bite! Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I wanted to make this really bad, when i got to the cupboard I only had 1 chicken gravy, so i mixed 1 package of chicken gravy with 1 package of mushroom gravy, i cooked the ground turkey in EVOO, minced garlic, paprika, and italian seasoning, it was perfect, excellent. I also seasoned the potatoes, i cheated and used instant, but them added garlic salt and black pepper, my veggies were corn and green beans. Man, this was mouth-watering! Hubby loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States