The Humble Shepherd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Good base recipe. Made a larger pan (13X9)so increased amount of everything. Added celery, cooked it with the onion and turkey meat. Added worcestershire sauce and garlic powder to the turkey mixture while cooking also. Made a roux with the turkey drippings, flour, butter, water, and about 1/4 cup milk.Used fresh broccoli, steamed a bit until crispy tender. Used cheddar cheese. Omitted frozen vegies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Italianmamaof4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Taylors, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I used frozen peas and fresh steamed carrots,a jar of prepared gravy,chicken sausage,two tablespoons of butter to keep the fat content down,also nonfat milk.and as someone suggested don't add the whole cup of milk,add it gradually or you might get soupy mashed potatoes.I used the prepared pie shell and baked it at 375 for 40 minutes in a 9 inch round baking dish.I sprinkled a blend of italian cheese the last ten minutes.we really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mike
Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I love this easy recipe. Changed a few things: used ground beef and I added Worshestire sauce to it. We did not use chicken gravy. Next time I am going to try ground sausage. This dish is fast to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estes Park, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Very good and the left overs were great as well. Nice meal to make at the beginning of the week. A little time consuming but it hit all the marks of a home-cooked comfort food dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
This is so good and easy to make. I used two packages of Idahoan intant potatoes (homestyle) instead of making mashed potatoes from scratch. I was able to throw this together within about 20 minutes plus baking time. My husband LOVED it and so did I! I also added fresh celery because I love it so much. I totally recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star_Eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Great taste,, however i would not recommend you use an electric mixer as it makes the mashed potatoes runny !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Very good! I usually make shepard's pie with ground beef and beef broth mixed with tomato paste, but tonight I had ground turkey thawing. I saw this recipe, thought I would try it. Excellent with the chicken gravy and ground turkey! I left the cheese off (dairy -free). I have made it with a light sprinkling of parmesan cheese on top during the last few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This is a great dish. I had alot of pot roast leftover, so I used that instead of turkey, used 1 and 1/2 cups of essence that was left with a packet of brown gravy and a couple of Tbsp of flour for the gravy. I used two onions, peas and frozen mixed veggies. I also used Thyme, Garlic and ground pepper (no salt) to season the meat!! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Really liked this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Great recipe! I improvised a little, just cause I didn't have all the ingredients. I used 1 packet of gravy mix, and about 2 cups of low salt chicken broth instead of water, I used frozen long green beans and through in about a 1/2 c. of mixed veggies (frozen), I also through in a teaspoon of minced garlic, basil, and some worchesire sauce, through the meat and veggie and gravy mixture into a casserole dish and topped it with a generous amount of grated cheddar on top of the mashed the potatoes........yummy! my little boys loved it, even my youngest son that is quite picky, both had 2 helpings! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States