The Humble Shepherd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
The Shepherd's pie was good. I used ground beef as opposed to turkey and it came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kassy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
i was skeptical at first about this recipe, but i was very pleasantly surprised! it is very easy to make and its delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akbecca81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Egegik, Alaska, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
We loved this, even my fussy toddler. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
My husband loves this! I changed a few things - Instead of gravy, I mixed the turkey with bbq sauce. I also added garlic to the mashed potatoes, and used corn as the vegetable. I topped with cheddar and colby. It was great. I love this recipe because it's easy to substitute what you've got on hand. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Good, but my husband wasn't crazy about it. He said not to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westwood, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I cheated and used instant potatoes, and I added garlic to the meat mixture. I also used one packet of instant mushroom gravy and on packet of country gravy. My fiance and I REALLY liked it, and it was a quick easy, weeknight meal. It is also a great recipe to "play" with. You could make it southwest style by seasoning the meat with taco seasoning and using pepper jack cheese and corn instead of peas and carrots, for example. So overall, a great recipe, especially for busy weeknights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraKKH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: White Stone, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I really enjoyed this recipe. I wanted to make something Irish inspired for my Irish husband on St. Patrick's Day. We aren't huge lamb or beef people, so this was the perfect alternative. I agree that just seasoning with salt and pepper would have been a bit too dull for us, so I added garlic and some Italian seasonings. It was just delicious and my husband and I enjoyed every bite! Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I wanted to make this really bad, when i got to the cupboard I only had 1 chicken gravy, so i mixed 1 package of chicken gravy with 1 package of mushroom gravy, i cooked the ground turkey in EVOO, minced garlic, paprika, and italian seasoning, it was perfect, excellent. I also seasoned the potatoes, i cheated and used instant, but them added garlic salt and black pepper, my veggies were corn and green beans. Man, this was mouth-watering! Hubby loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This dish was so good! We had it in the middle of winter. I made cheese biscuits to go with it. My husband said it was one of the best things I'd ever cooked for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Council Grove, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
4.5 stars! There is just a little something that keeps it from a 5-star but I can't quite put my finger on it. This is quite good though and is best served on a chilly eveing with some crusty bread. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States