The Humble Shepherd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Pretty good. I think I added too much Worch. sauce as others mentioned, but I would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Really the best! Added the worcestershire sauce as someone else recommended and the dried oregano. I found I had to add a little bit more water as it was cooking on the stovetop, since it got too thick too fast. Also, had leftover mashed potatoes from the day before, so I added sharp white grated cheddar, and at the end sprinkled it with paprika before putting in oven. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This was awesome, had to use what i was on hand. I cooked the turkey with garlic and onion and used onion gravy 1 packet which turned out amazing. Used corn, bean, carrot, pea mixture of veggies. Only had baby red potatoes, cooked them with skins on and then mashed according to directions and topped with white chedder cheese.. My picky child finished her plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This recipe is so versatile. I enjoy using any veggies I have on hand. I also like to add fresh garlic and a variety of spices to the turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
My family really liked this recipe even with the few changes I made. I didn't have the mixed vegetables on hand, so I used a can of corn and a can of peas. I substitued instant mashed potatoes since I didn't have any potatoes on hand. My family requested we didn't add the cheese, so I left that off. Definitely a nice change from our usual rotation and will absolutely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pampered Chef Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasant Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
Def. add more spices. I even added hot sauce to my plate. Overall it was very good..Kids loved it. Cheap and easy, what more could you ask for?? thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This recipe was easy to make and very good. I did add 2 Tbls of worchestershire sauce to the meat as I was browning it along with some onion and garlic powder for added flavor. I topped mine with shredded sharp cheddar cheese and french fried onions as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
We have tweaked this one into one of favorite recipes now! Awesome, filling dish!! Our modifications as follows: ~Omitted oil in cooking turkey, but added rosemary, garlic salt, & black pepper to season. ~Used 2 packages of instant potatoes, cheddar & sour cream variety. ~Traded frozen veggies for a can of corn & a can of green beans. ~For gravy, we used one jar of turkey gravy & one packet of McCormick's Homestyle Gravy Mix (prepped as directed & added jar of turkey gravy to it). ~Cheese choice: Colby/Monterey Jack Mix Mix it up with your own personal favorites. Any way you fix it, this dish is great at making a little go a long way & tasting great at the same time! Thank for sharing... it's a permanent addition to our recipe box. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daemonique

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This is THE best Shepherd's pie! My family loved it, which is saying a lot when you have 5 kids! Anyway, I did add a few extra spices, just whatever I had on hand as well as frozen mixed veggies. You can't rate a recipe less than what it is if you are the one who chooses to make changes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
mm very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carebear05

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States