The Humble Shepherd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Your picture shows green beans instead of peas, which I would actually prefer. Some shredded carrots would add color and flavor. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
This was fast and easy. I used instant garlic and herb mashed potatoes. I also used ground turkey and a low sodium gravy mix. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
This recipe is called Humble Shepherd, not Shepherd's Pie. Another reviewer (we won't say who) rated the recipe based on the name? Please...rate on taste, not the title. It kills the ratings for great recipes when you do such things. Lighten up and enjoy eating something new and different! Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
The title perfectly describes this recipe and offers a good starting point. I too added Worceshire and garlic to the recipe. I don't like gravy mixes and made my own with a basic roux and boullion. I used the premade "Simply Potatoes" as I didn't have time to make my own and hate the "flakes." I topped it off with sharp cheddar and placed it under the broiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I did add my own veggies, instead of frozen, my own herbs and made the fresh mashed. This one is worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Great recipe! Delicious! Looks like someone started Ocktoberfest early! Instruction number five is a repeat of number four! Prost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danatboise

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
great recipe but I did make some adjustments only because I didn't have the calling ingredients. I used boxed creamy butter mashed potatoes and cooked it according to the box instcutions. And I also used 1 packet of brown gravy mix for the turkey meat instead. Everything tasted wonderful and I love having leftovers of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
This recipe has its pluses and minuses. On the good side, it's very quick if you don't have a lot of time to make a meal, especially when using instant mashed taters. On the bad side, I wasn't wowed by flavor. It wasn't terrible, but it needs some zip. I added tarragon when I was cooking my turkey. I also used veggie broth as the "gravy" since I don't buy the instant gravy. Adding a bit of ketchup at the table gave it some decent flavor. Perhaps I'll tweap it with tomatoes in my next version. I would do again, but with changes for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by galfriday

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This is definitely a meat & potatoes meal! I used the turkey but because I had Italian sausage I needed to use, I added it to the turkey. I also added a can of corn, can of peas and chopped up two fresh carrots cuz I didn't have frozen. I threw in 4 garlic cloves and the worchestire sauce as recommended by others. Instead of the chicken gravy mix, I had brown gravy mix I needed to use, so I did. I did not add any butter or milk to the mashed potatoes but added fat free cream cheese for creamy mashed potatoes. I topped off this meal with fat free cheese. This was very good and hearty. Just a tad high on the sodium content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockhart, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Mmmmmmm! Comfort food at its best. I omitted the cheese to reduce the calories/fat content further and it tasted just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States