The Humble Shepherd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Great way to use ground turkey. It is good with or without the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I think I'll try a meatless version of this on Thanksgiving since there will be plenty of meat already with the turkey. I'm leaning towards making this as a substitute for stuffing...but still giving it a stuffing-like flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SierraFishinGuy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Very good. I also added a can of cream of mushroom soup to the meat/gravy mixture, which made it go a little further (made 13x9 pan), it also added a nice creamy texture and upped the flavor factor a bit. Also added some garlic salt and used carrots, green beans and corn for our veggies. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This was ok. I guess I'm use to the ground beef versions which seem to have more taste. 2/5 people in the house thought it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Because of time constraints after work I used instant mashed potatoes (6 Servings) and one jar of gravy and I used beef (personal preference) and added garlic with the onion. Used frozen corn and cut the cheese down to 1 cup I thought 2 cups would be too much for me. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I love shepherd's pie, and this recipe was great! The only thing I did differently was to add pie crust. I bought a refrigerated pie crust, baked it in my dish on 450 for about 10 minutes until it turned brown, and then added the ground turkey/gravy/veggie mix, and topped it with the potatoes & shredded cheese. IT WAS SPECTACULAR and my husband loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsTDA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Pretty similar to a tater tot hot dish, only I didn't feel it was as filling. Easy to make, though, and good flavor. It's a good base recipe for you to add in other seasonings or ingredients. My family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I thought this recipe was great. I used instant mashed potatoes, frozen asparagus, corn carrot mixture, some rosemary and salt and pepper. I had mozzarella instead of cheddar - Very easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
This was such an amazing shepherds pie!!! I cooked the onions separately from the meat and added mushrooms in with them. I also added carrots that i pre steamed to make sure they would be done enough! This is a great base recipe and you can pretty much use whatever veggies you have! I will def. be making this again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States