The Greatest Grilled Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I have been grilling whole turkeys for T-Day for almost 20 years. Two things I do differently: I cover the ends of the legs with foil for the first 2 hours; and I will put either whole fresh herbs (sage, parsley & rosemary) or a peeled orange, or 1/2 peeled onion in the cavity for the whole roasting time. Discard before carving the turkey. Bon apetit! gobble gobble
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
I put sliced oranges with whole cloves into the cavity of the turkey, cook it upside down for the first 1/2 of the cooking time, then turn it over to finish cooking. This adds great flavor, keeps the bird moist and adds flavor to the drippings for the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Very delicious & easy. I watched the grill temp to keep it at about 300. Yummy slightly smoky flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
We decided to try grilling our turkey this year for Thanksgiving, it was great! Everyone loved it and its so easy. We'll be cooking our turkeys like this from now on. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Wow for Grilled Turkey! It was so simple, so very good, so very moist. Gave me a free oven to do as I please.I did not do the Italian spice..I put the apple,chuncked orange, fresh sage,onion,celery & garlic in the cavity. Brushed w/melted butter. Put some white wine in the roasting pan. Used it for the broth for my gravy. We will NEVER cook a turkey in the oven again. Thanks again Allrecipes. Happy Holidays..Nana
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belmont, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I had to post this to this recipe because it is the closest to what I did. I used a turkey brine from this site by (sheri gailey). After the brine process of 20 hrs. I grilled my turkey over charcoals and oak wood using indirect heat for about 4hrs it was the bomb!!!. after the brine process believe it or not there was no need for any extra seasoning (for real!!) my process of what I did is on the reviews of the TURKEY BRINE RECIPE) from this site. truly one of the best turkeys I have ever cooked. Ps. and I grilled it directly on the grate to really get that grilled flavor. Ok now I'm done.UPDATE 11/23/07 I DID THE GRILLED TURKEY AGAIN THIS YEAR VERY GOOD, ONLY CHANGE THE BRINE PROCESS THIS TIME, CAME OUT AS GREAT AS THE FIRST TIME!!! 10++++ STARS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudette P Henry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Wonderful idea. I have been grilling turkeys for about 10 years now and found one more simple hint that just kicks a turkey over the top. Before you grill the turkey cut up some apples (any kind will do). Just cut up and core. Leaving the skins is fine. While you are grilling the juice in the apples will evaporate and merge into the turkey giving the smoky flavor a very moist apple flavor...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
343 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
Question Please!?? Do you cover the Turkey???? txs'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
326 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
Our oven broke down just before my dinner party. I turned to allrecipes.com for help and found this amazing recipe. I will never cook a turkey any other way now. The grilling process made my turkey turn out absolutely delicious. I especially loved the smokey flavor and the carmelization. My dinner party turned out to be one of my best ever. And now all my friends want to know how to grill a turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
The turkey turned out perfect. I did not cover the turkey with foil or anything. Close the lid on grill and leave it there until turkey has finished cooking. Very easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States