The Greatest Grilled Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I have never done a turkey on the bbq before but with a huge family gathering this Thanksgiving, room in the oven was pretty scarce! It took about an hour longer than forcast, but my turkey may not have been completely thawed. It was moist and beautiful, I stuffed it with chopped apples and wove a bacon mat to put on top. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen Llemon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This turkey was at least as good as fried, better than anything from the oven, and easy as can be! I brined the turkey overnight like I always do. Thanksgiving day I just put it on the grill with a pan underneath the grate to catch drippings. I added celery, apples and onions to some chicken stock in the pan. The best gravy ever! Freed up the oven for all the side dishes. My husband and kids loved it! I'll never bother with any other method again. This is a keeper you must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I brined first using Turkey Brine from this website. It took a little over 3 hours for a 16lb turkey on the electric grill. I tried to get it to 350 degrees but with it being cold out, it was around 300. I put it in a roasting pan so I could use the drippings for gravy. It was awesome and cooked really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Doyle Lundy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Oh gosh this was so awesome!!! we stuffed the turkey with applesauce and apples and then followed the recipe. We had a little trouble keeping the temp at the right temp for the first like 20 min and then it was like everything came together and oh my goodness so moist, tender and full of flavor. I will never do a turkey in an oven again..this came out so good I think we will try it for my family Christmas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superwoman8977

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Beech Grove, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
We had a turkey in the freezer we needed to use. Grilled it today using your method except put in on the grill on heavy duty foil. It was perfectly cooked! So very good. We will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I'm a convert! Not only that but I'm singing your praises to everyone I know. I've never been a turkey fan but I loved this! My family was skeptical but I persisted and even they agreed that it was great having the oven available. But the best part, I got rave reviews on the taste. I put my turkey in a disposable pan, prepped it the same way I would if I were roasting it (olive oil, salt, pepper, sage, garlic, thyme)and put onions and celery leaves inside the bird. I added chicken broth to the pan and put it on the grill at medium heat. I ended up adding two additional cans of chicken broth to the pan and putting aluminum foil over the wing tips and in just over 4 hours our 15 pound turkey was perfect. What a wonderful discovery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Great, I did 2 turkeys one in the oven one on the grill. The one on the grill got much better reviews. It cooked quicker then the oven and stayed very moist. I also added some apples and oranges to the cavity. I also put a pan below the grates and filled it with apple cider and water just to add some moisture. This is the only way I will cook a turkey in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This is so simple, yet fantastic. My first grilled turkey, and it is perfect, moist & tender. My twist: I used the double-pan method as prescribed to catch the drippings, but in the outer pan I laid several strips of uncooked bacon at each end outside of the inner drip pan. This gave the turkey a faint smoked flavor along with the Italian seasonings. Best turkey I ever cooked, this will now be my preferred method. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Couple suggestions: Over the direct heat I like to put a pan of soaked woodchips; I like mesquite for a strong smoky flavor. You can use oak if you want a milder smokey flavor. I also like to baste with a mop while it cooks, or keep a pan of liquid somewhere in the grill for humidity. The mop I typically use is a simple eastern North Carolina, of cider vinegar, molasses, dry mustard, some other seasonings depending upon what mood I am in. Sometimes I also stuff pats of butter down under the skin, or slices of raw bacon or saltpork to add flavor while the turkey cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States