The Extreme Cherry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
The best I ever tasted. I did omit the cherries in the cake, because I also used a cherry frosting and added the cherries there. Used a 9 x 13 pan for 45 minutes. After the cake was baked I used the recipe for cherry frosting also found in allrecipes, and that was a five star also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
MISSING INGREDIENT!! This is a delicious cake. We've had the recipe for years! It is missing 1 cup milk though!!! And, you could add 1 tsp. almond extract for more cherry flavor! We frost if with a cherry frosting of butter, XXX, cherries and juice w/ almond extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
This was a good moist cake. I don't have access to maraschino cherries, but I did use canned cherries that I found in my local grocery. The cherries were packed in water, whick I used in the recipe. Overall, I don't think the cake was as sweet without the maraschino cherries, but it worked really well. I used a buttercream icing with this cake, and my company raved about the cake and icing. If I find maraschino cherries, I will definitely try this recipe using those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Higashikurume, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This cake had an excellent flavor, but why was mine dry and heavy? I would like to use it again, but it was not moist and it was heavy. Please help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COSIE3

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
This cake came out a little dry in my opinion but very tasty. A bit of simple syrup soaked into the cake fixed the dryness. Totally make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
I altered this recipe slightly, and created a cake I was very happy with. I thought the butter flavor might compete with the cherry flavor, so I used 1/2 cup Crisco instead of 1/2 cup of the butter. I also added about 1/8 cup extra cherry juice because the batter's cherry flavor wasn't strong enough for me. The cake turned out nice and moist. In a bundt pan, it took about 50 minutes to bake. It still barely had enough cherry flavor for me, but everyone who tried it liked it. The texture was great. In the future, I would use almond flavor instead of vanilla (but maybe only 2 tsp so it's not overpowering). Also, I would at least double the amount of cherry pieces--the pieces were few and far between. Overall, a great cake that's easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
I believe this recipe has been updated since the last review. Anyway, this cake is wonderful. I made it for a friend's birthday and it received rave reviews. Its moist and tasty. I used buttercream icing and next time I'll use chocolate buttercream. This cake cooked in about 30-35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
This cake is a great party cake! It's relatively moist, has a great cherry taste, and is very pink and festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This cake was ok... The texture is a bit corse/dry for my liking. I prefer the moist light cakes or a bunt style. This cake had the texture of cornbread. I even brushed a bit of cherry juice on each layer and used a butter cream frosting because the cake alone is not very sweet. It wasn't terrible, but I don't think I will make it again. Sorry....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Disappointing. The color was beautiful, but the cherry flavor was not very intense even though I added extra juice and cherries. It was also a bit dry...I may have overbaked it slightly. I used a white chocolate icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathyt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Essexville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States