The Extreme Cherry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2001
I was hesitant to try a cake recipe calling for 3 tablespoons of baking powder. I should have trusted my instincts, because half of the cake batter ended up overflowing onto the bottom of my oven. Perhaps it was supposed to be 3 teaspoons?? Very disappointing and a big mess to clean up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
I believe this recipe has been updated since the last review. Anyway, this cake is wonderful. I made it for a friend's birthday and it received rave reviews. Its moist and tasty. I used buttercream icing and next time I'll use chocolate buttercream. This cake cooked in about 30-35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
There is something missing with this recipe. The amount of liquid to dry ingredients is off, and produced such a dry cake, that we couldn't even take the cherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
This cake is a great party cake! It's relatively moist, has a great cherry taste, and is very pink and festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
This was a good moist cake. I don't have access to maraschino cherries, but I did use canned cherries that I found in my local grocery. The cherries were packed in water, whick I used in the recipe. Overall, I don't think the cake was as sweet without the maraschino cherries, but it worked really well. I used a buttercream icing with this cake, and my company raved about the cake and icing. If I find maraschino cherries, I will definitely try this recipe using those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Higashikurume, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
This cake came out a little dry in my opinion but very tasty. A bit of simple syrup soaked into the cake fixed the dryness. Totally make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
The best I ever tasted. I did omit the cherries in the cake, because I also used a cherry frosting and added the cherries there. Used a 9 x 13 pan for 45 minutes. After the cake was baked I used the recipe for cherry frosting also found in allrecipes, and that was a five star also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
I altered this recipe slightly, and created a cake I was very happy with. I thought the butter flavor might compete with the cherry flavor, so I used 1/2 cup Crisco instead of 1/2 cup of the butter. I also added about 1/8 cup extra cherry juice because the batter's cherry flavor wasn't strong enough for me. The cake turned out nice and moist. In a bundt pan, it took about 50 minutes to bake. It still barely had enough cherry flavor for me, but everyone who tried it liked it. The texture was great. In the future, I would use almond flavor instead of vanilla (but maybe only 2 tsp so it's not overpowering). Also, I would at least double the amount of cherry pieces--the pieces were few and far between. Overall, a great cake that's easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This cake was ok... The texture is a bit corse/dry for my liking. I prefer the moist light cakes or a bunt style. This cake had the texture of cornbread. I even brushed a bit of cherry juice on each layer and used a butter cream frosting because the cake alone is not very sweet. It wasn't terrible, but I don't think I will make it again. Sorry....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I was not impressed by this cake at all. I used it to make cupcakes (solving the not-enough-cherries problem by adding an extra cherry to each cupcake). I think, had I used a box cake mix, with the same cherry idea, I would have been much more pleased. This cake came out very thick and dry - not really a good combination!!! And very bland. I added cream cheese frosting, and that helped a bit - but I wanted cherries with my cream cheese, and this recipe simply did not cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Dusty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States