The Easiest, Yummiest Sugar Cookies EVER!!! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Seeing as the recipe was very simple I decided to experiment. Instead of butter I replaced it with 207 ml of vegetable oil wanting to see how the cookies would turn out. I saw in previous reviews about a runny batter which I did end up with but wasn't surprised, I used oil for pete sakes, so I used enough flour (WAY more than what the recipe called) until I was able to scoop it up and form them into balls covered in sugar. (What I did notice is that if you give the batter some time, it might harden up..by the end I was actually able to pick up the batter and it didn't stick.) What I got was some pretty decent sugar cookies! Not the absolute best, but enough to satisfy that cookie craving. I'm pretty sure if I used butter I would've gotten a better flavor. Overall, I'm content! It's worth a shot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly. The dough was nonexistence. It was more like a cake batter than a cookie batter. I tried putting in the freezer to give it some time to firm, but that didn't help either. The cookies were flat and sticky. Even with non-stick spray, they stuck to the bottom of the pan. There is definitely something missing from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
These were very easy and turned out good. I followed the suggestions of others by making sure my butter was very soft, and I added an additional 1/2 tsp of vanilla. I let them cook for 8 minutes. I frosted and decorated mine while still warm and they were soft and good. Will make again. Did not give it 5 stars because I added extra vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Dough Was Runny, Had To Turn Recipe In Oatmeal Cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
The recipe was all right but I had to grease the pans so they wouldn't stick and add a half cup of flour so it wouldn't be too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ophelia Keith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I would like to mention that the full 2 1/2 cups of flour is not necessary. My first batch in which I used 2 1/2 cups of flour in turned out way too crumbly. I instead tried just 2 cups, and had success. I heard most people were having the issue of runny batter but my problem was the complete opposite. I also used margarine instead of butter and used an extra teaspoon of vanilla. Although I didn't follow the 8 minute rule, my cookies came out PERFECTLY at 5 minutes, however it may just be my oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I have to agree with 'SAGERS'. I had to add more flour to make this dough easy to work with. Mine turned out okay when they came out of the oven, but I really thought that they were tasteless. I was just going to pitch them, but on second thought I will wait until hubs gets home. He may have a different opinion of them than I do. I was wondering if the person who submitted them could have missed an ingredient when they were typing it in. To me, it just felt like they were missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindy Lessard
Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
well first off i didnt have butter so i used butter spread, so it was a little bit more oily than i wanted it... but it was still like cake batter thin once i was done... i ended up adding 3cups more flour and i cookie-cutter'ed it with mini hearts and it made approx.8doz... very yummie though after my ajustments... overall i guess i would need to make this recipie with butter to really know... but if i make basic sugar cookies again i will use this again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
These cookies were not the "yummiest" sugar cookies ever but they were okay. I think they were worth trying but I might not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
they were ok, but nothing spectacular. i have a recipe i like better but they were worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARBUG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States