The Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2001
Looking at the recipe, my husband didn't think he would like it, but it ended up being a hit in my family! The cheese, mushroom soup and tomato soup really set it off for a nice filling meal! No leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
While I thought this was really good, my family didn't like it, but they don't like casseroles. I substituted stew meat for the hamburger and it turned our great. Thanks for a great recipe that would be good for a potlcuk dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2003
This is quite good. Some changes: I did up the mashed potatoes as I normally would, with milk and butter, salt and pepper. I beat them with my hand mixer before adding them on top of the meat/vegetable mixture. I think next time I'm going to try adding some garlic powder to the meat mixture and the potatoes just to give it some extra flavour. Also, next time I'm going to try just adding the cheddar cheese into the potatoes. I didn't really enjoy having the hardened cheese on top. Using canned veggies made this very quick and easy. Oh yeah - I doubled the meat and was generous with the number of potatoes and then baked it in a small roast pan. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
Surprisingly good... Although, I agree that it would be better if the cheese was mixed into the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
I really enjoyed this, but the rest of my family did not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
This was OK. I added some garlic salt to the meat and about 1 1/2 cups of cheese in with the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
I only made this with tomato soup, and did not add the carrots and green beans since I didn't have any on hand. I thought it turned out wonderful! A bit of garlic to the meat would be good too, I think I'll try the other reviewers suggestions sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
This was pretty good. I only had 3 potatoes so that's all I used but it was still fine. I mixed the cheese into the potatoes as others suggested and was glad I did. Also added milk, butter, salt, and pepper to the mashed potatoes. I used corn instead of carrots and added a generous amount of garlic powder to the hamburger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
VERY good. I replaced the beef with ground turkey and the tomato soup with tomato paste. You can top this with instant potatoes in a pinch, but it's really best with homemade. We've had this at least a dozen times now. It's a favorite. OH, and we omit the cheese on top. Not needed in our opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boone, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This recipe is excellent, I made this and my husband and I Loved it, the only things I changed were veggies I used peas & corn cuz that's what I had, I mixed the cheese in with the potatoes like others suggested and added a 3/4 of a can milk to the mixture to make the sauce a little creamier it has become a house hold favorite... I just Love the ajustability of it if you have or want to try something different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha Noel Abbott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States