The Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Was yummy, family liked, easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This was a really fabulous recipe. I made a few changes... For one, I left the potatoes cubed, (it seemed too much like shephard's pie with them mashed), and only used four, substituting the other four with sweet potatoes. It sounds odd but it was a big hit considering my husband does not like casserol. I also used fresh vegetables instead of canned and added a little garlic and chili powder to give it a littel extra flavor. I stirred the cheddar cheese in with the mixture rather than having all the hard, burned cheese on top. Great recipe for experimenting. Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liberty, Missouri, USA
Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I didn't have tomato soup, so I substituted with tomato paste and water. I don't know if it would have made a difference if I had used tomato soup, but I was not a fan of this dish. I mixed extra cheese in my mashed potatoes, along with milk, butter, salt, pepper, and sour cream. The whole dish was bland, even though I did add garlic powder. My husband thought it was not bad, but my kids wouldn't eat it. I even tried adding ketchup for them per a previous review. The only one who ate it up was my 16 month old, but he eats just about anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This was pretty basic and lacking in a strong flavor... until I discovered that eating it dipped in ketchup gave it exactly the flavor I was looking for. I subbed the veggies for what I had and ended up needing more mashed potatoes and cheese in order to cover the top. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JesusIsTheWay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I've had this a couple of ways. Once with ground beef, onions, potatoes, carrots, tomato soup and cheddar cheese. The second time with hot Italian ground turkey, parsnips, onions, carrots, potatoes, tomato soup and lots of cheddar cheese. This is a great recipe to play with and it will be a staple from now on. Next time I might not use any meat at all, just lots of root vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
That my husband and daughter liked this and they hate casseroles makes it a winner! I think it reminds them of the Hamburger Helper I won't buy anymore and they miss. I only substituted cream of celery for the mushroom, and frozen green beans and corn. This is a versatile dish that you can change up depending on what's in the cabinet and freezer. I would also suggest using can gravy if you have no cream soups. Less sodium. Next time I'll try the boxed potatoes, but it was still a pretty quick and easy dish. It helps that I always keep browned and drained ground beef in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This recipe is excellent, I made this and my husband and I Loved it, the only things I changed were veggies I used peas & corn cuz that's what I had, I mixed the cheese in with the potatoes like others suggested and added a 3/4 of a can milk to the mixture to make the sauce a little creamier it has become a house hold favorite... I just Love the ajustability of it if you have or want to try something different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
VERY good. I replaced the beef with ground turkey and the tomato soup with tomato paste. You can top this with instant potatoes in a pinch, but it's really best with homemade. We've had this at least a dozen times now. It's a favorite. OH, and we omit the cheese on top. Not needed in our opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boone, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
This was pretty good. I only had 3 potatoes so that's all I used but it was still fine. I mixed the cheese into the potatoes as others suggested and was glad I did. Also added milk, butter, salt, and pepper to the mashed potatoes. I used corn instead of carrots and added a generous amount of garlic powder to the hamburger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
I only made this with tomato soup, and did not add the carrots and green beans since I didn't have any on hand. I thought it turned out wonderful! A bit of garlic to the meat would be good too, I think I'll try the other reviewers suggestions sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States