The Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
My husband is not a picky eater but rarely does he go back for seconds. He did with this one. I used fresh beans and carrots that I par-cooked and added about half the cheese to the potatoes after mashing them. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Replace canned vegetables with frozen and fresh. I made this a couple of times with different vegetables and each time this turned out great. Add 1/2 t. each of salt, pepper, garlic powder, and chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I made this last night & my family loved it. I made 2 changes: I used 2 lb. ground beef, and I used corn instead of carrots (kids aren't big carrot fans). My husband, my son, and even my picky teen daughter liked it, and that's saying something! I also used instant mashed potatoes--butter & herb flavor. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lilred
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I did quite a bit of changes and added a few things. I added some garlic, cumin and coriander to the beef, changed the canned vegetables for fresh vegetables, added mushrooms, added a tbsp of herb and garlic cream cheese to the mashed potatoes and I omitted the cheese so that it doesn't have so many calories cause the cheese alone was 326 calories. It is very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilred

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
It was literally just how I rated it, ok. Just not visually appealing for small family members, also I strongly, strongly recommend using either frozen or fresh veggies instead of the canned! Along with everyone else's advice to add garlic powder to the meat, it might be an ok dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
It is absolutely creamy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by firecat14

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oak Hill, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SANDRA_92083
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This was great for a quick week night dinner! I used fresh carrots and mashed my potatoes with butter, milk, and some salt and pepper. The only thing I would do differently is add some seasoning to the ground beef next time as well (salt, pepper, and garlic powder). Otherwise this was really tasty and filling! We decided it was like Hamburger-Helper/Shepherd's Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRA_92083

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Not too bad at all, I substituted the carrots with greens beans and it was delicious. I also flavored the ground beef with minced garlic, salt, pepper etc. I added cooked mashed potatoes just like I always do as well, with salt/pepper, butter and milk. If I hadn't used any spices it may have turned out somewhat bland. Good recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I found this recipe to be lacking in flavor. I love shepherd's pie and thought this would be a good take on it but it was really rather bland. I'd make it again but try some different spices in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States