The Captain's Famous Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
My husband claims this is the best jambalaya I've ever made (and I've made a few). We love seafood, so I added shrimp and calamari. Have tried it with red snapper and tilapia, good with either, but snapper was better. Also put in a little turkey polska kielbasa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Nanjing, Jiangsu Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This recipe was very easy to make. It is pretty spicy, but I enjoy it that way. The snapper was great. I added about a pound of shrimp and some fresh s to the recipe, and it worked great. It was so good it made me want to slap my mama. Since she lives out of town, I slapped my mother in law instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
Since I dont know what the heck file powder is I didnt use it but I guess it didnt really need it because it was very tasty. I also used canned tomatoes and chicken broth. It was great, The only other change I made was to place the snapper filets on the top at the end to sort of poach it since I was afraid it would over cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staci mc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Made this last night after searching the site for a red snapper recipe. Using a half recipe with one andouille sausage added with the vegetables, I followed suggestions to add the fish chunks late in the cooking and also included about 8 large thawed shrimp cut into thirds. Had Jambalaya made by a friend years ago, but this was a first try by me -- and a keeper! Having the leftovers tonight, so it's really good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
I made this recipe with high expectations because of it's five star rating. I was making a surprise birthday dinner for my boyfriend and was really excited to try this (because he makes an excellent jambalaya himself). I followed the recipe to the tee and by the time the hour simmer had passed, there were no fish bites left. It had all dissolved into a pasty mess. Thank goodness I had bought sausage or it would have just been a rice dish. I was very sad :( and embarrassed to serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This was a hit with my family, I used the snapper as called for and it was great. I didn't have the file spice and instead of mushroom stock used chicken stock that I had on hand, also didn't have brown rice so used Uncle Ben's long grain rice (just needs less time to cook than brown) Even with the changes this was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
I added 1 cup water to the butter/flour mixture after it had formed the paste. I didn't add salt. At the end I also added about 10-15 pre cooked/peeled shrimp. The snapper was a great idea! It really holds up in this dish! A definate keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Excellent dish! Takes some time, but is well worth it. Super filling, delicious and soul warming. TIP: pre-soak the brown rice overnight, and then drain before adding. This makes it much quicker to cook, and easier to manage the amount of liquid in the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2001
This dish is fantastic! The flavors are warm and spicy, especially yummy when you add Tabasco sauce. Whenever I eat it, I feel like I am visiting a Cajun restaurant down South. My mind wanders to thoughts of verandas, mint juleps, and alligator filled swamps. I usually eat 2 or 3 bowls in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
My husband and I can't claim any louisiana roots, but we love to make cajun food, especially Jambalaya. This one is a great "base" to which you can add all sorts of things. We used jumbo shrimp and finely chopped sausage, with great results. The best thing about this base: the spices. I didn't add the file powder because I couldn't find it my grocery store, and we didn't miss it. The allspice is a really nice twist that works really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States