The Captain's Famous Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This was very good. I made changes based on what I had on hand - didn't have green bell pepper or green onions so I left them out, used Zatarain's creole seasoning in place of file powder, didn't have fish, used kielbasa, used chx broth instead of mushroom broth, white rice instead of brown, and used a combination of fresh and canned tomatoes. Served it with cornbread and a salad. The amount of rice was more than I expected, but great nonetheless and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This was a hit with my family, I used the snapper as called for and it was great. I didn't have the file spice and instead of mushroom stock used chicken stock that I had on hand, also didn't have brown rice so used Uncle Ben's long grain rice (just needs less time to cook than brown) Even with the changes this was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Sorry Captain, but us Texans like it H-O-T! Lol! Although not hot enough for a Gulfcoast gal, it was delicious. I used blue crab and shrimp instead of snapper and yummmmmmy! I will most definitely make it again-it was very easy and fast to prepare. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grafton, Ohio, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Even though I was the only one in my house who could handle the heat of this, I'm still going to give it five stars. The heat can be controlled next time I make it if I wish to do so. This was so good. I couldn't believe how easy it was to make and how great the results were. I've never made any kind of cajun food before, so I thought it would be a challenge. It wasn't at all. The taste was restaurant quality. I will definitely make this over and over again! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This recipe was very easy to make. It is pretty spicy, but I enjoy it that way. The snapper was great. I added about a pound of shrimp and some fresh s to the recipe, and it worked great. It was so good it made me want to slap my mama. Since she lives out of town, I slapped my mother in law instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
Great recipe. Thanx! I (like some others) did not know what file powder was so I left it out. Also, I felt the the measurement for pepper and cayenne was too much for my taste so I more than halved what the recipe called for. And I used fish broth instead of mushroom. I, like another reviewer recommended, added the fish only at the end. I used fresh trout instead of snapper. The taste was out of this world! However, I would not recommend using fresh trout only b/c it is too difficult of a fish to fillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Ercolini

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
I am just learning how to cook and also improvise. After promising my fiancé Jambalaya I printed this recipe and went to the store. Too bad it was Sunday and they had closed the fresh fish section. I used the same base minus the file seasoning which I could not find. I added shrimp, imitation crab, flounder and sausage. I also realized that there was a lot more liquid than rice so added the entire bag. It came out delicious and my fiancé went back for seconds and even brought some to work—so either way the base seasoning of this recipe is fantastic with or without the Red Snapper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
Since I dont know what the heck file powder is I didnt use it but I guess it didnt really need it because it was very tasty. I also used canned tomatoes and chicken broth. It was great, The only other change I made was to place the snapper filets on the top at the end to sort of poach it since I was afraid it would over cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staci mc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
My husband can't get enough! We love this recipe and eat it at least monthly--usually with sausage instead of the snapper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
My husband claims this is the best jambalaya I've ever made (and I've made a few). We love seafood, so I added shrimp and calamari. Have tried it with red snapper and tilapia, good with either, but snapper was better. Also put in a little turkey polska kielbasa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Nanjing, Jiangsu Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States