The Captain's Famous Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2001
This dish is fantastic! The flavors are warm and spicy, especially yummy when you add Tabasco sauce. Whenever I eat it, I feel like I am visiting a Cajun restaurant down South. My mind wanders to thoughts of verandas, mint juleps, and alligator filled swamps. I usually eat 2 or 3 bowls in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
I added 1 cup water to the butter/flour mixture after it had formed the paste. I didn't add salt. At the end I also added about 10-15 pre cooked/peeled shrimp. The snapper was a great idea! It really holds up in this dish! A definate keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
this recipe was good but has a funny after taste!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
I did not have all the ingredients handy, so I had to improvise. I used plain ground beef, omitted the green onions, allspice, used one HUGE tomato, white rice, Tony Chacherie's spice blend, and dehydrated onions. It was wonderful!! At first I thought I burned the roux mixture, but it was perfect. Hubby loved this recipe and went back for thirds!! It was even better the next day (well, what was left). In order to keep the spice down for Hubby (heartburn) I put a packet of Taco Bell's FIRE sauce in my bowl (no disrespect to the recipe). Very tasty!! This one's going into rotation. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
My husband claims this is the best jambalaya I've ever made (and I've made a few). We love seafood, so I added shrimp and calamari. Have tried it with red snapper and tilapia, good with either, but snapper was better. Also put in a little turkey polska kielbasa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Nanjing, Jiangsu Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
My husband can't get enough! We love this recipe and eat it at least monthly--usually with sausage instead of the snapper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
Since I dont know what the heck file powder is I didnt use it but I guess it didnt really need it because it was very tasty. I also used canned tomatoes and chicken broth. It was great, The only other change I made was to place the snapper filets on the top at the end to sort of poach it since I was afraid it would over cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staci mc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
I am just learning how to cook and also improvise. After promising my fiancé Jambalaya I printed this recipe and went to the store. Too bad it was Sunday and they had closed the fresh fish section. I used the same base minus the file seasoning which I could not find. I added shrimp, imitation crab, flounder and sausage. I also realized that there was a lot more liquid than rice so added the entire bag. It came out delicious and my fiancé went back for seconds and even brought some to work—so either way the base seasoning of this recipe is fantastic with or without the Red Snapper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
Great recipe. Thanx! I (like some others) did not know what file powder was so I left it out. Also, I felt the the measurement for pepper and cayenne was too much for my taste so I more than halved what the recipe called for. And I used fish broth instead of mushroom. I, like another reviewer recommended, added the fish only at the end. I used fresh trout instead of snapper. The taste was out of this world! However, I would not recommend using fresh trout only b/c it is too difficult of a fish to fillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Ercolini

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This recipe was very easy to make. It is pretty spicy, but I enjoy it that way. The snapper was great. I added about a pound of shrimp and some fresh s to the recipe, and it worked great. It was so good it made me want to slap my mama. Since she lives out of town, I slapped my mother in law instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States