The Cake That Doesn't Last Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
very good! didn't last in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
We cute the oil and sugar by 1/2C each, but did add 1/2C honey. Since we were a little short on banana, we added more pineapple. Baked up real nice, in a little less than 75 minutes, and we let it cool in the pan for about 20 minutes before turning out on a cooling rack. Tastes basically like a sweet, very moist banana bread; no frosting needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
This is my 'go to' cake when I have ripe bananas hanging around. I add 1 cup of unsweetened, shredded coconut and use pecans instead of walnuts. Also, I use butter instead of vegetable oil. Always tastes great and is gone very quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Fantastic recipe! Took a chance and made it for company. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out moist, delicious, and rose beautifully in the bundt pan! My company just loved the moistness, and even took some slices home. My husband is not a cake person, but he snuck down in the middle of the night just to sneak another piece! Wow! I'm so glad I tried it. Thank you so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
FANTASTIC! I'm always looking for yummy new recipes for old bananas and this is one of my absolute favorites! My only change was substitute 1/2 applesauce for 1/2 cup of the oil. (I would have replaced half the oil with applesauce, but I didn't have enough.) Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
This is an old family favorite. Over the years, though, I've reduced the oil and sugar each by half, and I actually like the flavor and texture much better this way. I've even baked it for wedding cakes--it's always good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
True to its word! The CAke that Doesn't Last. I made it as stated, but I did cut the oil in half and used the applesauce. Only difference. So yummy... I ate so much of it myself. HA.. Loved it!!!! Will make again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurses-r-angels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I love this cake, I made it for my co-workers and it was gone in 2 min! I use 1 cup of cinnamon applesauce and 1/2 cup of oil instead of the 1 1/2 cups of oil and its just delicious it comes out better in a silicone bundt "pan" and I always have enough batter for a small bread pan. making it to give to neighbors and friends for christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I have had this receipe for 30 years and my receipe calls for only 1-1/2 C sugar, 1 C oil, no nuts and an UNDRAINED 8oz can of crushed pineapple. Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarendon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
The cake is fabulous when made by the original recipe. I also make a browned butter glaze for the cake.Melt 1/3 cup butter on medium heat till golden brown.Add 2 cups powdered sugar, 1 1/2 t. vanilla and 3 T. warm water. Stir till mixed and quickly drizzle over cooled cake. Top with chopped pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ackerly, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States