The Breakfast Omwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Used ingredients listed in recipe except for mushrooms (sometimes I use, didn't have any on hand). I made in microwave by melting 1 Tablespoon of butter in a 9" pie plate. I separted the eggs and beat the egg whites until soft peaks formed, then folded in the yolks and poured into pie plate. I cooked in the microwave for about 3 1/2 to 4 minutes. Puffed up beautifully, I then added ingredients on one side of omelet and then folded over. Served with homemade salsa and sour cream. Also sprinkled garlic salt on buttered toast. This is basically the same recipe I use for making filled French omelets. I also use an apple filling or potato/ham filling. Simple recipe which we always enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful
Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Made for the Recipe Group ~ excellent jumping off point for a breakfast sandwich. You can alter this in so many ways. I did stay close to the true recipe with only the omittion of chives & ham (didn't have any on hand). I used a red bell pepper as I finished my green one at dinner last night. Next time I will add more jalapeno as I could not taste any heat...and I only used 2 eggs and scaled the rest down by a third as I was the only one eating this, and I served it on a toasted, sprouted grain bagel instead of bread. I only put half the Omwich on the bagel, the other half will be for breakie tomorrow! :) Great idea demz....thanks for the recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Made for Recipe Group. Seriously good stuff! I didn't have any ham, but went ahead and made it anyway. I have made breakfast sandwiches before by just beating everything in with the eggs and scrambling them together in the pan. Makes sense to let the bottom set but by the time that happens they were browning already before the flip part. I flipped and just let it cook long enough to finish cooking the eggs inside. Never thought to put mayo on the bread, I usually add jelly! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Gotta say, this recipe doesn't really sound to appealing, but I must say, OH MY GOSH... The Breakfast Omwich is such a good idea, & is totally yummy!!! This is a must try for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I doubled this recipe this morning to feed three, my husband and two boys. I used organic eggs, kept the cheese at a half cup and the cheese I used was 2% sharp cheddar (to cut some of the fat) and I used turkey bacon and thinly sliced turkey ham. I used red bell pepper instead of green (just a personal family preferance) and omitted the jalapeno only because I'm feeding small children. I served this on toasted Dave's Killer Bread and instead of mayo, my husband used homemade salsa and reduced fat sour cream as "glue" to hold his om-wich together. I assume they liked them because five minutes later, nothing was left. Thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Great breakfast sandwich. We did this open faced. I forgot to add the mayo, but I love mayo on my fried egg sandwiches. My omelets always fall apart so it was kind of scrambled veggie eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Wow - I took one look at this and it had my husband's name written all over it! Anything that has ham AND bacon and I just have to make it for him. It had a lot of "optional" ingredients so I left out the things that he doesn't like, of course that means most of the veggies like mushrooms and jalepeno pepper but everything else stayed. I used a toasted steak roll vs. bread because this thing was a little on the large side plus it was getting wrapped in foil and going to work with him. Overall, it got rave reviews from him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Jeff Acord
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
It says add a PINCH of salt and pepper. season to taste. use common sense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Acord

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Living In: East Renton Highlands, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sara S.
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Mmmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I haven't tried the recipe yet. I'll give it 3 stars cuz it sounds yummy....except for the "1 cup salt and ground black pepper to taste (optional)". I'm hoping that's a typo!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Breakfast Biscuits

Load them up with bacon or sausage, eggs, and cheese.

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States