The Big Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Delicious and fun to put together with friends. The Costco rosemary french bread worked wonderfully with it (only got 4 layers). Wasn't sure about the horseradish and mustard, but melted together beautifully. Would make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Wow! This is one BIG sandwich. It's actually more of a hoagie or sub depending on where you're from. I have to laugh because I added some lettuce to make it "healthy" - as if it could possibly be any good for you. But, I guess you have to splurge once in a while. I made two and because there was no way we could finish these I sent the rest to work with my husband and he told me the guys renamed this "The Widow Maker".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This sandwich was great but I did add on. I added some thinly sliced cucumbers,sliced pickles and guacamole
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I've made this sandwich before and loved it. I lost the recipe and was happy to find so quickly. I make it in the morning and serve it for a picnic lunch. I've never had a problem with soggy leftovers. But I always use a chewy bread. I find it is less likely to get soggy when it is made ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mendota, Illinois, USA
Living In: Centralia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This makes a great sandwich. I used a round loaf of Italian Boule, but otherwise followed the directions exactly. It was very tasty and my picky husband raved about it. Next time I will try the French bread as we had a ton of sandwich left over (not that that's a bad thing!). Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
Too much of a mouthful. This is a sandwich you need to eat with a fork and knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
Fun to make for the Superbowl tonight. Tasty but needing a little something. Maybe some regular mustard, dill pickles or even peppercini's to add some flavor. Liked it though and will make again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Donahue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Indiana, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Excellent! Made this for a football party, and everybody loved it. I couldn't get five layers out of it either, so I just did four, and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JODI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enon Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clinton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
Delicious. Made it for hubby and myself for tonight and it was great. I played around with the ingredients a bit and it turned out great. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
What a fun and wonderful sandwich! I didn't get 5 layers either. I couldn't find a good bread knife either, part of the problem. I wanted to go to Subway and borrow theirs. I added shredded lettuce from the bag and banana pepper rings. I am going to make this again for the ballgames this weekend. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Big Dipper Sandwich

See how to make a tender roast beef sandwich with dipping sauce.

Cucumber Sandwich

This healthy cucumber sandwich stars avocado, pepperoncini, and cream cheese.

Grilled Chicken Salad Sandwich

See how to make a tasty chicken salad using leftover grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States