The Big Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
This pie is WONDERFUL! The crust, in particular, was a dream come true! I have tried so many recipes for crust and my Irish mother would always tell me, "Butter, flour, salt and water is all you need," but I wouldn't listen. Mom knows best! The filling is great, too as it doesn't have too much spice to it (some apple pie recipes are drowned in cinnamon and nutmeg and you can't taste the apples). Since I go to the orchard to pick mine, I want to be able to taste them (that's the only thing I do differently with this recipe-- I don't use Granny Smith). Thanks so much for submitting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Loved the taste of the filling in this pie. It is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seb

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Photo by Brittanylace
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I followed the recipe, except I didn't have any cinnamon, and it tasted so good! I also couldn't wait for the four hours for the crust and used it right away. The pie was much better the next day. The crust was a little crispy the night I made it, but the next day it was perfect (soft). Thank you for making my first homemade apple pie a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittanylace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I made this pie for a dinner and it turned out just delicios. Everybody loved it and i will keep doing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Thank you so much for posting this! I was flitting through the net trying to find something like my mother's recipe and this is exactly it. Even though "mom" always made the best because it is what we grew up with, it really is the perfect pure apple pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skatmatth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michael Burgio
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I just made this pie and it came out great I do suggest using 2 tablespoons of flour to thicken the filing. It really tastes yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Burgio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Union City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I followed the recipe, but when i pulled it out of the oven the pie was full of water. So i drained it out and cooked the pie longer and then poured a little of the water back in to keep the moisture. All in all it was very tasty, but next time i will cut bigger slits and let it cook for longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BiancaConnell
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
My first at baking a pie and I followed this recipe and it came out very well. Just watched a couple of videos to learn making the pie crust besides this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2002
A good pie, but a little flat tasting, I thought. Got compliments, but I would have liked it better with some ice cream, I think. The crust was easy to make, but not as flaky as your typical shortening-based crust. A nice basic apple pie though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I did not make the crust recipe because I had a recipe for a crust that tasted like a sugar cookie but I did use the recipe for the filling and it turned out kind of runny. I would use a little more flour (like another tablespoon). But other than that it was a great pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States