The Best Veggie Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
This made for an excellent lunch and as others have said this recipe is incredibly adaptable to what you have on hand. I used Indian naan bread instead of English muffins; a thick hearty guacamole instead of avocado, onions and ranch dressing; broccoli sprouts instead of alfalfa and sharp finely shredded cheddar since I could find smoked cheddar. Skipped the sesame seeds all together, however including them may added an additional texture to this open faced sandwich. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by caitlinleah
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
it's just as good as everyone says- and it was very quick to make. there are 4 ingredients that need preparing, and 4 muffins that need to be toasted. so i mashed the avocado while the first was toasting, chopped the tomato while the 2nd one was, chopped the onion while the third one was, and shredded cheese during the toasting of the 4th english muffin. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caitlinleah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I was looking for a sandwich that would go well with creamy chicken and wild rice soup, (Fantastic!!!). These are a HUGE hit! YUM!!! YUM!!! :~)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
This was awesome! We added some fresh spinach the second time we made it, and it worked well. We used regular cheddar cheese one time, and another time tried feta cheese, which was also very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Delicious recipe. Very easy to make. My husand is a meat person so I added sliced ham (chicken might be better) on top of the avocado but under the toppings. He even thought it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Too bad that one of the three star ratings pulled this recipe down 1/2 star because it definitely didn't deserve it! I made it with smoked gouda because it was all I had on hand and after the first sandwich, I sliced hard-boiled egg on the second. Either way, the sandwich was great. Thank you for sending it in. I will definitely continue with this recipe! Everyone at work loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Eastpointe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Denise Peacock
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
These were simply wonderful! I used a fresh white round loaf, cut thin and added some mesquite smoked turkey. Side of romaine lettuce with some plum tomatoes for an excellent and filling meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Peacock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Socorro, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Justine
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
I wouldn't consider this the "best" sandwich, but it was pretty darn good. I will be making this again. I was out of sesame seeds, I used whole wheat english muffins, low-fat ranch dressing (Naturally Fresh is the absolute best) and I salt and peppered the sandwich before I broiled it. My boyfriend (who mostly eats vegetarian because of me) does not care for sprouts, but he enjoyed this sandwich a lot! Quite tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I modified this a lot because after I toasted the eng. muffins and mashing avocados I realized I had hardly any of the ingredients... but I still loved it. It was too late to think of something new for dinner so I had to improvise. Here's what I used on top of the toasted english muffin: chive and onion cream cheese mashed avocados--sprinkled with salt cheddar cheese mozzarella cheese I know this is not this recipe at all, but this tasted great! I can't wait until I have all the ingredients to make the real recipe, it looks so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Reese Greenwalt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Awesome! We substituted sprouted grain bread for the english muffins, mung bean sprouts for the alfafa sprouts, and we used a cheese substitute. My husband and I both enjoyed this sandwich! It's become a regular weekend lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJMORRIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenbelt, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rehoboth Beach, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

California Grilled Veggie Sandwich

See how to make a 5-star sandwich with grilled vegetables on focaccia bread.

Grilled Veggie Sandwich and Potato Salad

This grilled sandwich is so hearty, you could almost call it "meaty."

Cucumber Sandwich

This healthy cucumber sandwich stars avocado, pepperoncini, and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States