The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
This recipe truly lives up to it's title. I've made a zillion vegetarian chilis (it seems) and none were quite right until this one. The only modification I made was to add two cans of tomatoe soup (no water) and leave out one jalapeno pepper. I got rave reviews. This is one to save
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
This recipe tempts me to never buy canned chili again! My whole family enjoyed this one and the leftovers have proved tastier than the first bowl. I did make a few adjustments. I used only one jalapeno and added salt to taste rather than the entire tablespoon all at once. I'd guess I used about half a tablespoon. I used canned crushed tomatoes in place of the fresh ones (a 28 oz can I think) and added an extra can of beans since I had some on hand. I cheated and used ground turkey in place of the veggie crumbles and I let the whole thing sit on the burner over low heat for about two hours instead of the 45 mins. The result was amazing! This is awesome chili, I can't wait to make it again...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aviva Jorstad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
we liked this one although i did use free range groung turkey breast instead of veggie crumble,but i went to the health food store and got all my stuff and threw it in the crock pot in the am. added the turkey two hours before we ate.i also added more tomates,mmm!!!will make this again,thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anichka
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
I was a little confused - ground oregano or leaf? (I ended up using the latter, because I had more of it.) Couldn't much drain the chile peppers, and I wondered whether to drain the beans (don't). Turned out very well, beautiful, though I might use a little less chili powder next time (and I used a skimpy 1/4 cup). Also used only 1 jalepeno - it was plenty spicy tonight, and will be spicier tomorrow. I used about a teaspoon of salt instead of a tablespoon and it was enough. Modifying review to add my experience cooking it in a slow cooker... I prepared the veggies (onion, garlic, green pepper, celery) as instructed, and then transferred them to the slow cooker before throwing in the rest of the ingredients except for the corn. I cooked on high for a couple hours and added the corn about an hour before the end and turned my cooker down to low at the same time (about 3 hours in the slow cooker in all). It turned out brilliantly. I was worried the veggie crumbles might get rubbery, but they did not, and the spices were mellower but still very tasty. Huge hit at the office, even though they are all meateaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
definatly a keeper. i cooked in the crock pot as well (3 hours on low then 1 hour on high w/ half can of water). the only thing i changed was a can of diced tomatoes for 3 fresh ones, and only 1 jalepeno pepper instead of 2. it was GREAT! will be making again next week. thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
This recipe is great because it is fast, nutricious and you can mix up the ingredients. I used 1 can of small diced tomatoes and a small can of tomato sauce. Pinto instead of kidney beans. Frozen corn kernels work great in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAPATISTA234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
oh yum! my whole family really enjoyed this chili. i'll definitely be making it again. i used chili powder from a local indian grocery store, and i think that might've made it too spicy. next time, i'll try using chili powder from the neighborhood grocery store. but besides that, it was perfect! thank u for the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
This is an amazingly good vegie chile. We love it, and have made it three timews in as many months. We like hot in our housse, so we use jabenero and whatever beans we have around. Give thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
I made this chili for Thanksgiving in lieu of turkey, and it went over really well. I followed other posters' advice to use only 1 jalapeno. I also skipped the canned jalapenos. I also used pinto beans instead of garbanzo. I used the liquid from 2 of the cans of beans, and drained away the other cans' liquid. It was easy to make, turned out beautifully, and everyone raved over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
this is the best chili ever and so easy to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 982) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States