The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
This chili is the bomb.com!!!! It is to die for!! My entire family loves veggie chili night and Everyone agrees that it is WAY better than the normal chili that we had been making forever. We aren't real vegetarians, we were just looking for healthier options. Glad we decided to try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Delicious, and a huge hit even for my meat-eating room mates! I did make some changes to the recipe though, as I was working with what was already in stock. I didn't have fresh bell peppers or canned corn, so I used the frozen versions (which I sauteed separately before adding in), and I relied on red beans instead of black beans. I also incorporated fresh oregano rather than dried. Finally, I skipped the burger crumbles, and punched up the flavor with a few chipotles in adobo sauce. I'll follow the ingredients more closely in the future, but I am very happy with the result. To those who have yet to make this recipe: Go ahead, do it! It's easy to customize to your own preference. There's also little prep time involved; most of it is actual cooking time, so it's easy to make on a weekday evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerié Fox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I prepare this recipe every two weeks freezing half upon completion so it can last. My variation is this, mix your favorite chili powders to archive 1/4 cup... I do an 1/8 regular and 1/8 chipotle. Lastly, but most importantly, I recommend 1 tsp of black pepper instead, you can work your way up from there. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I made this for my daughter, who decided she'd like to try to eat without eating meat for a while....it was DELICIOUS for all of us!! We never missed the meat & thoroughly enjoyed the medley of beans with a bit of spice! It's cheaper than canned, & much more heartier! Give it a try! You won't be disapointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucy16076
Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
This recipe is awesome! Not too spicy at all. Maybe the detractors used cayenne instead of chili mix, or maybe they just have super bland taste buds? I used the Fiesta brand of chili mix with one jalapeno pepper, and it was just the perfect level of spiciness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
I have made this chili for my vegetarian daughter and she loves it! I recently made it for a church community dinner where we had 4 crockpots of different chili available and this chili sold out! Everyone is asking for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
my husband is the Chili maker. He tweaked it a little (too spicy for me, but really very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This is THE BEST chili (and healthiest) I've ever had. My husband loves it and we Texan carnivores. I've made it plenty of times and discovered that the flavors are much better when I use "petite diced tomatoes" instead of crushed. I'm not sure why it makes such a difference, but it really does. It's also great with real beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
This was by far the best chili I have ever had. But it was way too spicy!!!! I only used 1 and a half jalapenos too. Next time I will only use one and de-seed it to boot! But regardless of the spice, it was still amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaSue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Halifax, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 992) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States