The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Make this all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I really enjoyed this chili as did my family. I had to omit the chili peppers and the jalepenos, but the black pepper and the chili powder did a great job giving it some kick. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I don't usually write reviews when I alter a recipe considerably. I'm doing it for this one because the ingredients I used were mostly the same, I just used dried beans instead. I did add a few extras and subbed the crumbles with brown rice due to what I had on hand. I made 8 qts. for freezing and upped the heat level due to preference. I used 1c each of (dried) black beans, garbanzo, pinto, and northern beans. I did a fast soak. While the beans were soaking, I made a veggie stock from the ends of onions, celery, and carrots that I freeze from other meals, along with 6 red chiles. Strain the stock when it's ready. When the beans were done soaking I strained and rinsed them, and added them to the stock. I added the bay leaves and 2 dried, whole Ancho peppers (remove these with the bay leaves at end). I sauteed the onions, celery, bell peppers (only had colored bells), and garlic before I added it in. Then I sauteed the jalapenos quickly with about a half cup of finely chopped cilantro. I added the other seasonings to the jalapenos to wake them up for about 30 secs, then added to chili. I doubled all seasonings, and added 1tsp of smoked paprika. Brought to a boil, then simmered for an 1hr 30 mins. I subbed 2c dried brown rice, and let it simmer 30 mins more. All other ingredients were the same, it's super yummy. If you try this add salt as you go since the beans aren't canned. Hope my changes help someone who wants to try it with dried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rozekitten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Photo by Peppermint Patty
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
We are not vegetarians. We like this recipe although I admit I made adjustments. It is a great recipe to adjust to your liking and family size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I loved this chili, it was so good. I only used one bag of veggie crumbles and I use fresh tomatoes instead of canned but it might be my favorite vegetarian chili recipe so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
This chili is delicious! I de-seeded the jalapenos to cut down the spice factor, which seemed to work really well for a mild to medium heat. I drained all of the beans and corn and used 28 oz cans of crushed tomatoes since I didn't see the original cook's note on here about hand-crushing the whole peeled tomatoes. It turned out to be a thick, hearty chili that you can eat by the spoonful or wrap up in a tortilla. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
This recipe is perfect! Not a single thing needs to be changed. It always gets rave reviews when I make it and I have shared it a number of times. It fits just right in my big pot and the left overs freeze beautifully so it can be enjoyed again later. I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
We absolutely love this recipe. I always change or add a few things in most recipes I follow. For example, in this one I use red, orange and green bell peppers(I love colorful meals). I also add chopped fresh mushrooms for added super nutrients and texture. I exchange all ingredients possible for fresh rather than canned. I also elimiante the veggie burger crumbles as American soy does not agree with my digestive system. But I add 1/2 cup of quinoa for added protien and texture in its place. My kids love this recipe more than turkey or traditional chilis. Even my carnivoris husband loves it. We have shared it with other families and they have been shocked after enjoying some that there is no meat in it. Its definately NOT too spicy for all my kids who started enjoying it at ages ranging from 2 - 9, one of whom does not like ANYTHING very spicy. My husband adds tobasco to his for some added kick. This is a GREAT healthy recipe thats a CROWD PLEASER for herbivors, onmivores and carnivors alike! I always double this recipe so we can enjoy the leftovers. WE LOVE IT! Thank you calead910 for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
My husband made this recipe today and I can't believe how good it is ! It tastes absolutely wonderful ! , I would definitely make this again Super Bowl dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 976) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States