The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
I love this recipe, the only thing I do is less chili powder as I'm not a firehouse chili person, this can be adjusted to personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnne Harrison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
I just made this for a dinner for international students. I followed the recipe exactly and it is absolutely delicious! I'll be making chili with meat also with my own recipe which is very good. I have a feeling the vegetarian chili is going to be the star of the show though. Really excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Excellent recipe! Lends itself to optional changes & personalization, which I like. Very healthy and I crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
wow lots of flavor - can't believe it's vegetarian! Forgot to get green chilies, added more ground red pepper and cayenne pepper. Used Italian seasoning instead of oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
Great recipe! Makes a huge amount. I made a double batch of step 1(onions, seasoning, veggies) and froze them in smaller packs. I just add 1 large 28 oz can of tomatoes and 2 cans of beans and let it cook for 45 minutes. Turns out great. I had to add extra chili to it though, thought it wasnt spicy enough. Also, i increased the amount of cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I've made this a couple times now. I love eating it with fresh avocado as a garnish because I make it so spicy that it needs something to tame the heat. I put extra jalapeños and use habanero chili powder, with all different colors of bell peppers instead of celery. I also add a can of white beans and serve with cilantro sprinkled over the top. (If its for a party I serve with fresh chopped white onion, fritos, cheese, cilantro, and sour cream. When I served this at a camping party, alongside an award winning chili with meat, this vegetarian actually won the taste test !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Drew

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
This is fantastic. I made it as directed and loved it. Did add some hot sauce because we like it super spicy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
I LOVE this recipe and have made it for my office mates many times. One thing I did change was adding eggplant instead of the veggie burger. It has the same consistency as meat, almost, and adds an extra texture. I also substituted pinto beans for the garbanzo's, just because. I garnish with Cotijo Cheese and serve with Mexican corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Excellent chili recipe for vegetarians especially because you can easily customize it to suit your preferences regarding spiciness. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
AMAZING! This chili turned out so delicious! Highly recommended. I made a couple of modifications. I didn't drain the black or garbanzo beans. Up until that point, the chili really didn't have a base. So, emptying the beans in there along with their liquid made for a nice base in the chili. I halved the amount of pepper. You have to add more salt than it calls for. The trick is tasting the chili after every step to see when you need to add salt. I also baked some cornbread and served the chili over cornbread. Yum! The kids even liked it. It has some kick to it, but not much. If you don't like any kick, use only one jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,029) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States