The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I freaking LOVE this recipe! I've made it about six times now, and there are a few things I tweak. I use mushrooms, more tomatoes, and fewer cans of beans. I also add another bay leaf in there. Amazing with extra sharp cheddar and avocado slices on top. Ugh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niamh Falter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
One of the most delicious vegetarian chili recipes I've tried. I did, however, use garlic powder because I did not have fresh on hand. I used one green pepper and half the amount of veggie protein and added a little fresh cilantro. We cut the chili powder in half as well, and it lent the perfect amount of spice. I topped this with veggie cheese shreds and sliced green onions. Very flavorful and hearty chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Added peeled carrots and a habañero pepper. Very delicious and flavorful!!! Best chili my boyfriend and I have ever had! Will be making this dish many more times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
It turned out great! I followed everything exactly except I didn't have any black beans and I added frozen corn and mushrooms. Be careful when you bring it to a boil, I put it on med-high heat and it exploded a little because of its thickness. I added about a cup of water to thin it out a bit. Also when removing the membrane and seeds from a jalapeño, thoroughly wash your hands - it starts to burn a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Perfect! I just added a cup of Veggie broth and it was a hit! Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather Maclin
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I love using this recipe as a guide for my own chili creations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Maclin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
This chili is the bomb.com!!!! It is to die for!! My entire family loves veggie chili night and Everyone agrees that it is WAY better than the normal chili that we had been making forever. We aren't real vegetarians, we were just looking for healthier options. Glad we decided to try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Delicious, and a huge hit even for my meat-eating room mates! I did make some changes to the recipe though, as I was working with what was already in stock. I didn't have fresh bell peppers or canned corn, so I used the frozen versions (which I sauteed separately before adding in), and I relied on red beans instead of black beans. I also incorporated fresh oregano rather than dried. Finally, I skipped the burger crumbles, and punched up the flavor with a few chipotles in adobo sauce. I'll follow the ingredients more closely in the future, but I am very happy with the result. To those who have yet to make this recipe: Go ahead, do it! It's easy to customize to your own preference. There's also little prep time involved; most of it is actual cooking time, so it's easy to make on a weekday evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerié Fox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I prepare this recipe every two weeks freezing half upon completion so it can last. My variation is this, mix your favorite chili powders to archive 1/4 cup... I do an 1/8 regular and 1/8 chipotle. Lastly, but most importantly, I recommend 1 tsp of black pepper instead, you can work your way up from there. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I made this for my daughter, who decided she'd like to try to eat without eating meat for a while....it was DELICIOUS for all of us!! We never missed the meat & thoroughly enjoyed the medley of beans with a bit of spice! It's cheaper than canned, & much more heartier! Give it a try! You won't be disapointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucy16076
Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 978) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States