The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2004
Hi everyone this is my recipe! Thanks for all the great reviews however they have made a misprint in the submission. It should read 3 large cans of whole tomatoes, crushed by hand NOT 3 tomatoes, that would make this very spicy as well as very thick. I don't remember if I wrote this part as well, but I usually drain the 2 cans of beans, and I leave the liquid of the rem. cans. Luckily not many have been effected by the mistake. thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1805 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calead910

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
Very easy to prepare and tasty. It is also adaptable. I used 2 fresh green chiles and less than 1/4 cup chile pepper, it was still very hot. Next time I'll use even less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
WOW! This was awesome! I love chili and I love veggies but most veggie chili recipes lack the heartiness and substance of the meat varieties ...this recipe was definitely an exception!!! Easy, delicious and very satisfying!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
This turned out fantastic! I'm a "most of the time" vegan, and I made this while staying with my very un-vegan family. Everyone loved it, and loved the little bit of kick the spices provided. No one even missed the meat! I actually left out the veggie burger crumbles and used canned crushed tomatoes instead of fresh tomatoes. I served it with vegan sour cream and corn chips. Yummy!I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
This recipe was great! My husband and I are vegetarian and have been searching for a good chili recipe--this is the one! I threw everything, along with a little water, into the crock pot for about 4 hours and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
This is amazing! I think you could make it with meat, but I think the Boca makes it better because it is also preseasoned. This was even better a day later when it had time to sit and marinate. I was suspicious of the garbonzo beans (because I hate them) but keep them in....YUMMMM. Maybe add a bit more corn, if you like corn. It added to the consistancy and gave it an unexpected yummy crunch! This recipe ROCKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERYKAHHH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
This is the perfect meal for a cold day. Everyone in my family loved it. The flavor and texture was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
I made this last Thursday and ate it again as leftovers on Friday. WOW this is AMAZING!! It's really great, so very easy and even tastes better the second day as the spices permeate the chili. If you don't like it too spicy, just leave out the jalapenos. I personally really loved how spicy it was. I served it with French bread and butter. I will certainly make this again! My husband didn't even miss the meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annalisa Schmad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
Very yummy - I ended up using ground turkey instead of the veggie crumbles. It was a bit salty, I wish I had waited to add the tbsp of salt first. But the spice level was very pleasant. I would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
This recipe truly lives up to it's title. I've made a zillion vegetarian chilis (it seems) and none were quite right until this one. The only modification I made was to add two cans of tomatoe soup (no water) and leave out one jalapeno pepper. I got rave reviews. This is one to save
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,036) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States