The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I loved this recipe I didn't have some of the ingredients so I decided to use this one and the Flatlander's Chili recipe which is my other favorite recipe. I just used Red kidney beans alone and I add tomato juice to the chili to add liquid to my chili :) so tasty don't even need toppings.. which I usually love to do.. ah.. chili I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taylor Mill, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Stayed pretty much to the recipe, it was delicious. Prep was fast, cooking time seemed just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Loved it! Great if you love spice. It makes a lot so we froze it and ate it a few times. Each time was just as great as the first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Big Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
LOVED IT LOVED IT LOVED IT. To keep it from being to spicy cut the seeds out of the jalapeno peppers and throw them away or use them for something else. What ever you do don't put them in the chili. The only other tip is use all organic ingredients. Even with the stuff in cans go organic. You'll find that organic canned food has a much better flavor and even seems to be more filling. I'm changing the name to "The Best Vegetarian Chili in the Freak'n Universe".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I love this recipe. i used chipotle chile peppers instead of regular chile peppers. It added an amazing flavor to the chili. spicy but sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
My mom could not believe there wasn't any beef in this dish and my friend who absolutely hates beans, loved it. They said this is the best chili they've eaten. Very tasty, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Make this all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I really enjoyed this chili as did my family. I had to omit the chili peppers and the jalepenos, but the black pepper and the chili powder did a great job giving it some kick. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I don't usually write reviews when I alter a recipe considerably. I'm doing it for this one because the ingredients I used were mostly the same, I just used dried beans instead. I did add a few extras and subbed the crumbles with brown rice due to what I had on hand. I made 8 qts. for freezing and upped the heat level due to preference. I used 1c each of (dried) black beans, garbanzo, pinto, and northern beans. I did a fast soak. While the beans were soaking, I made a veggie stock from the ends of onions, celery, and carrots that I freeze from other meals, along with 6 red chiles. Strain the stock when it's ready. When the beans were done soaking I strained and rinsed them, and added them to the stock. I added the bay leaves and 2 dried, whole Ancho peppers (remove these with the bay leaves at end). I sauteed the onions, celery, bell peppers (only had colored bells), and garlic before I added it in. Then I sauteed the jalapenos quickly with about a half cup of finely chopped cilantro. I added the other seasonings to the jalapenos to wake them up for about 30 secs, then added to chili. I doubled all seasonings, and added 1tsp of smoked paprika. Brought to a boil, then simmered for an 1hr 30 mins. I subbed 2c dried brown rice, and let it simmer 30 mins more. All other ingredients were the same, it's super yummy. If you try this add salt as you go since the beans aren't canned. Hope my changes help someone who wants to try it with dried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rozekitten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Photo by Peppermint Patty
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
We are not vegetarians. We like this recipe although I admit I made adjustments. It is a great recipe to adjust to your liking and family size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,032) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States