The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
This recipe is fantastic. I have tried many vegetarian chilis, and they tend to end up too soupy or too bean-y--but not this one! The only alterations I made were a) I used a whole onion instead of half and b) substituted diced tomatoes for one of the cans of crushed; otherwise I followed the recipe to a tee! I fed this to my meat-a-saurus family, and they swore up and down it was made with ground turkey! My only "complaint" is that it definitely serves more than 8! I would guess it makes closer to about 20 servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Way too much tomato in this chilli. I was very skeptical when the recipe called for three large cans of crushed tomato but I decided to trust the recipe and just went against my instincts. Major disappointment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Grindley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Made this exactly as written. Everyone loved it! DH's coworkers have asked for the recipe. It definitely was very spicy but very flavorful as well. Might tone down the heat the next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I don't make very many vegetarian dishes, but I wanted to cook for my office and the doctor I work for is a vegetarian. Thank goodness for this recipe! It was a huge hit and everyone loved it. The doc even asked if it really was vegetarian...lol. My wife and I are the only ones who like heat, so I left out the jalapenos. Other than that, the only changes I made were the addition of three small zucchinis and swapping one of the green bell peppers with a red pepper. Calead910, thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texican

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Angleton, Texas, USA
Living In: Manvel, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Delicious, nutritious, and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole K. Lawler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Love it, with some changing around- I add in a med- large eggplant, package of mushrooms, and an small-med extra jalapeño. Also, I add Cayanne pepper to the 1/4 c chili powder (both totaling the 1/4 c.) Lastly, I leave out the vegetarian burger crumbles. Let it simmer for 45-60 min. Make a box of elbow macaroni and add that to my bowl. Great with a little sour cream and/or shredded cheddar cheese. I LOVE spicy food and like that I can adjust this to taste. This recipe will last my husband and I about a week. Its also GREAT for freezing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I love how good it is and its hard to find a good vegetarian chili. I find the spice just a bit shy and so we added four jalapenos and seeds to it and it was prefect. If your family likes spicy than go for it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty Singson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
This recipe has WON my workplace's annual chili cook off two years in a row - and my coworkers are mostly meat-eaters! I've never met anyone who doesn't love this chili. It is quite literally the *best* in the world! I've shared the recipe multiple times because I don't believe in "secret" recipes... especially when I get them off the internet. LOL Thanks to whoever originally posted it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Nay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
So good. Even my carnivorous husband loves this! To make it even healthier (and equally delicious), I double up the kidney and black beans and skip the garbanzo beans and corn and add lots of cookable greens (e.g., spinach, kale). I cut back on the crushed tomatoes and add veggie broth because I find it a bit thick. I double up the garlic (because garlic) and add cayenne pepper to make it extra spicy. Also I cook it in a pot and then dump it in a slow cooker. Even better after all the flavors soak together for a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Way the heck too spicy-1tablespoon of salt?? That's just really bad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,025) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States