The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
This is the BEST!! Made it last night and its even better today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Lewsley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
I was kind of disappointed with this recipe, especially given the reviews. I made it for 10 people, used less tomato than it suggested and added an extra can of beans, and found that it was way too tomato-y. It definitely overpowered other flavors that you would look for in: the oregano, the bay leaf, the green chili. It honestly kind of tasted like a semi-spicy ketchup. If I were to do it again, I'd definitely add less tomato, put in some lime, and potentially some other veggies (zuke, yam, etc).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I have a pot of this chili on the stovetop right now. First real vegetarian dinner I have ever made. I halved the recipe and swapped the black beans and garbonzo beans for pinto and great northern white beans (my favorites). I think a good recipe allows for adjustments based on personal preference and this recipe does that - if you don't like it hot, omit the jalepeno and add a little bit of the chili peppers then taste it. Taste test was awesome. I did not use the jalepeno and used only 1/2 of the green chiles (after halving the recipe). I think I am going to try to get my DH to eat this without telling him there is no beef in it. We both need to cut choleterol; this is a great recipe to help with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. J. Nequette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Tried it. Liked it. Made WAY more than 8 servings. Somehow it nearly filled my 6 quart pot! Hope it freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
We'll make this one again w modifications. I used extra lean ground beef instead of the veggie crumbles and used a whole onion - all tasting great. Chili powder was a bit overpowering for our taste, so I might up the cumin/oregano a bit and cut chili powder down a couple tablespoons. It had great color and a nice depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HipChickDigs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I like this recipe but it was WAY TOO SPICY. I'm not an adventurous cook and follow recipes exactly. I've never used jalepeno peppers before and was told afterward that I should have taken the seeds out of the jalepenos and then it wouldn't have been so spicy. The recipe needs to state "seeded" for beginners like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I have made this several times. I make a couple of minor changes. I use pinto beans in place of the garbonzos. They just seem more chili appropriate to me. And I only use one package of the veggie crumbles and add a second can of corn. I've made this for potlucks at school and people ALWAYS ask me for the recipe. Even meat-eaters can't get enough. The only thing I would say is that it makes a lot more than 8 servings. I usually have some leftover to freeze because we can't finish it all! We LOVE IT!! So yummy :)And to the people complaining that it's too spicy, just omit the jalapenos and maybe cut the chili powder down a little. But I like it hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
My favorite chili recipe! Great for gatherings... I start with two pots, split the ingredients in half, and make one vegetarian batch and one with ground beef. Fritos on the bottom, cheddar and sour cream on top and it is perfect. Everyone is happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
I've made this several times. It is delicious and even great as a dip for tortilla chips. I like adding some cheese to the top and recommend being careful with the jalapeno peppers. Sometimes the peppers we pick up are not that spicy and other times they are very spicy. We test them before putting them in and only use one if they are very spicy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tifferooni11261

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
this was an excellent chili!! everyone dug right in without even a thought. the only thing i would change is to crushed tomatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 1,033) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States