The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
The ingredient list isn't clear and doesn't state how many crushed tomato to whole peeled tomato ratio. It just names both kinds and doesn't go beyond. This worked out to be more like a sauce than a chili and there are by far more superior recipes out there. At best, I was able to use this as a sauce over brown rice. It mellowed out the heat and gave it a less "sauce" feel. My suggestion, use two (28 oz) cans of whole tomatoes and 1 (20 oz) can of crushed and you'll have more of a chili. Rather than canned chilies, used the one's in adobo. It will give it a more controlled heat and you can a better depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
We have made this several times and loved it. This is a great meal to take to a friend. If you like it really spicy, make it as is. We have children who don't like it too spicy, so we cut the chili powder down to just less than 1/8 cup, omitted the jalapenos, reduced black pepper to just less than 1 T, and got "mild" canned green chiles. For meat eaters, you will also LOVE this. Just brown a package (usually 20 oz) of ground turkey and then proceed with the rest of the recipe. This chili is pretty thick, so you can add veggie broth or chicken broth if you want to thin it it a bit (we drain and rinse our beans to avoid added sodium, so I guess if you don't do that it's not as thick).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I love this recipe! I made it at least 5 times this winter and it was a hit each time. The first time I made it, I did it exactly as written (minus the jalapeno - we have a little one.) The green peppers were a little hard, and I thought it was a little spicy with 2 cans of green chile peppers. The subsequent times, I put the green peppers and celery in with the onions at the beginning to saute and just used 1 can of green chiles. I also don't think it's necessary to add the corn at the end - adding it with everything else works fine too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoextean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Haymarket, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Very very good! Made as directed but only used half of the meatless crumbles (package said sodium was 14% of daily value in 1 serving and there were 4 servings in the package I bought - Boca brand). I didn't salt at all to start with in case it was the crumbles that were causing the over saltiness that some people described, but it was VERY bland without. I ended up adding 1Tbsp salt. As far as the 'heat' goes, the chili powder is probably NOT to blame unless the pkg denotes it is hot or spicy. Typical red chili powder is not hot at all. Canned green chiles should not be to blame either - here in Arizona, our little 4 ouncers always say 'mild' which makes me laugh because I've never even SEEN medium or hot (and I've looked). So the 'heat' wildcard is the jalapeño - it's really hard to tell if you've got a hot one or not. Keeping seeds in will make a difference and size varies greatly. Ive seen them 1" to 3" long and depending on the crop/weather conditions makes a big difference in heat. I'm wondering if the folks who got blazed by the heat just got REALLY hot jalapeños or maybe used red pepper instead of red chili? Adding sour cream will cool it off some if needed, but mine came out perfect! Excellent recipe - never used bay leaf before and it seemed like a lot of oregano as i was putting it in but turned out great! Only obstacle was 'crushing' the whole tomatoes myself. I'll buy crushed next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I left out the meat, and it turned out wonderful! I love it. I will be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
thanks for this recipe, made it tonight and it was HELLA yummers!!! i had to sub out the 2 jalapenos for 1 serrano chile because my husband is allergic to jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LoloBear
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
We have been making this chili since my freshman year of college in 2008. Perfect chili for every occasion, especially football games. No one that has ever tried it knew it wasn't beef chili until I told them! Thanks so much, great recipe! To mix it up, I like to put sour cream and cilantro as a garnish (sometimes fritos and grated cheddar or colby jack cheese).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoloBear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
May be the best chili i've ever had (not just the best vegetarian chili). i left out the fake meat and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
My family really loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Fantastic recipe! I made a few changes, no cans of green peppers, and I added a sliced up squash to mine. Very spicy and very delicious. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 991) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States