The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I don't use processed soy so I subbed mushrooms, and I added a chipotle pepper and all of the adobo sauce in the can. Delicious! I know the original way would have been too, but I had that partial can of chipotles in adobo in my fridge .... waste not, want not lol. Looking forward to dinner!Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I just made this chili and my husband loves it! I am going to enter it into a chili cook off at our church later this month and made a batch to try it. I used two extra large jalapeño peppers, hot fire-roasted green chile peppers, Boca Crumbles, Tajin Clasico Seasoning for the chili powder and small red beans for the kidney beans. Evidently the chili cook off entries last year "needed more heat". I think this will be a fun entry. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Kohout Moore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This was amazing. Instead of veggie crumbles, I smooshed up a block of tofu and dry-fried it for a while to get it really ready to absorb the spices. Added a great texture. I didn't have enough chili powder but I'll be better prepared next time! Also, two fresh pasilla peppers in addition to the two fresh jalapenos, and I used 3 or 4 fresh bay leaves because I didn't have any dried ones. Fresh ones are less effective. Used frozen corn like others who commented.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Seriously the best!!! Just the right amount of spice level for me. I didn't find it too hot at all, but definitely spicy. The only mistake I made is not reading the opening line about needing a big soup pot! You want the biggest pot you got. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I wanted to try this recipe but didn't have all - but most - ingredients on hand. I also wanted to start by making a half batch since it makes so much. I'm happy to say that it turned out delicious! I omitted the veggie burger crumbs (didn't have and never use), corn, kidney beans, and oregano (don't like oregano). I used canned chopped jalapeno peppers and the remaining open can of chopped green chilies used to make a salsa. I served the chili over brown rice (rice + beans = complete protein) topped with a fresh quick homemade salsa(fresh chopped tomatoes, chopped onion, canned green chilies, salt & pepper to taste) and a fresh green salad on the side tossed with a balsamic vinegar dressing. Great meal! Thanks for the recipe! (Like most chili recipes, the ingredients do not have to be exact and can be tweaked to your preference.) NOTE: I made chili early in the day and put in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Hands down... best CHILI Ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I've been making a modified version of this chile since 2007. I had to modified it mostly because my chile powder (Tones) already included oregano so 2 Tbs was too much. I use 2 tsp each of cumin, oregano, salt. Since I love onion & garlic I use a whole onion and 4 large garlic cloves. For the green chiles I like to buy about 1 lb fresh & blacken myself under the broiler, put in a glass bowl with plastic on top, wrap in a towel for at least 15 min. then remove peel, seeds and stem and chop up. Never needed to add jalapeño because the other chiles had enough heat. I felt 2 cans of tomatoes was plenty. Before becoming a vegetarian I would add 2 lbs of ground turkey and this was a killer recipe but I turned vegetarian this year and so today I will attempt the recipe without turkey or crumbles, just beans ...maybe I'll try adding some quinoa!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alhambra, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This was fantastic! Huge favourite with the family and so easy! Served it with shredded Tex-Mex cheese and a dollop of sour cream. So yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline Weldon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This is my go to chili recipe. The flavor is amazing! I add barley to my version and I also do not add any jalapeños. Without the jalapeños the spice is decreased. If you add the barley be sure to boil it in a separate pot and add after it is soft. Otherwise, it will suck up all the liquid in the chili. :) Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This chili is fantastic!! I added mushrooms, zucchini, exchanged one green pepper for a red pepper, I also used frozen corn. I drained and rinsed all the beans. I skipped the celery(not a fan). I also downsized on the spice by eliminating the jalapenos and added a little more chili powder. Yummy, it's one of my favorite Meatless Monday meals. You can serve it with some sour cream and shredded cheese also, but you really don't need any extras.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,029) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States