The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I wanted to try this recipe but didn't have all - but most - ingredients on hand. I also wanted to start by making a half batch since it makes so much. I'm happy to say that it turned out delicious! I omitted the veggie burger crumbs (didn't have and never use), corn, kidney beans, and oregano (don't like oregano). I used canned chopped jalapeno peppers and the remaining open can of chopped green chilies used to make a salsa. I served the chili over brown rice (rice + beans = complete protein) topped with a fresh quick homemade salsa(fresh chopped tomatoes, chopped onion, canned green chilies, salt & pepper to taste) and a fresh green salad on the side tossed with a balsamic vinegar dressing. Great meal! Thanks for the recipe! (Like most chili recipes, the ingredients do not have to be exact and can be tweaked to your preference.) NOTE: I made chili early in the day and put in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Hands down... best CHILI Ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I've been making a modified version of this chile since 2007. I had to modified it mostly because my chile powder (Tones) already included oregano so 2 Tbs was too much. I use 2 tsp each of cumin, oregano, salt. Since I love onion & garlic I use a whole onion and 4 large garlic cloves. For the green chiles I like to buy about 1 lb fresh & blacken myself under the broiler, put in a glass bowl with plastic on top, wrap in a towel for at least 15 min. then remove peel, seeds and stem and chop up. Never needed to add jalapeño because the other chiles had enough heat. I felt 2 cans of tomatoes was plenty. Before becoming a vegetarian I would add 2 lbs of ground turkey and this was a killer recipe but I turned vegetarian this year and so today I will attempt the recipe without turkey or crumbles, just beans ...maybe I'll try adding some quinoa!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alhambra, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This was fantastic! Huge favourite with the family and so easy! Served it with shredded Tex-Mex cheese and a dollop of sour cream. So yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline Weldon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This is my go to chili recipe. The flavor is amazing! I add barley to my version and I also do not add any jalapeños. Without the jalapeños the spice is decreased. If you add the barley be sure to boil it in a separate pot and add after it is soft. Otherwise, it will suck up all the liquid in the chili. :) Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This chili is fantastic!! I added mushrooms, zucchini, exchanged one green pepper for a red pepper, I also used frozen corn. I drained and rinsed all the beans. I skipped the celery(not a fan). I also downsized on the spice by eliminating the jalapenos and added a little more chili powder. Yummy, it's one of my favorite Meatless Monday meals. You can serve it with some sour cream and shredded cheese also, but you really don't need any extras.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I have made this recipe quite a few times and i have always had excellent feedback - having said that, i did omit the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This was so delicious, a big success ! I added more cumin as I like a stronger flavor. I left out the jalapeño peppers as I am not a fan of hot ! It does make a huge amount, but I boxed it and it kept wonderfully in the fridge, you could also freeze it , I found the flavor improved with age. Definitely added to my favorite recipes, this would be fantastic now that fall is finally on it's way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Brought this chili it to a pot luck, received a lot of compliments. Gave 4 stars as I altered it so much: left out jalapenos and added I can of tomato paste and left out two cans of tomatoes and green peppers. The basic spices are what I believe makes this chili so popular, I wanted mine thicker, less spicy-hot and more tomatoey. I also added 4 veggie burgers as opposed to two which helped make this a thick chili. We did not need bowls to serve it, it was a side dish that didn't run all over the rest of the meal. A low fat, very healthy alternative to traditional chili that I plan to make again and again. As I'm not a huge fan of corn in my chili I'll omit it in the future. A great and easy recipe. throw ingredients in a crock pot and go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
WAY too much salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikiandres

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,015) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States