The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Loved it! Great if you love spice. It makes a lot so we froze it and ate it a few times. Each time was just as great as the first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
LOVED IT LOVED IT LOVED IT. To keep it from being to spicy cut the seeds out of the jalapeno peppers and throw them away or use them for something else. What ever you do don't put them in the chili. The only other tip is use all organic ingredients. Even with the stuff in cans go organic. You'll find that organic canned food has a much better flavor and even seems to be more filling. I'm changing the name to "The Best Vegetarian Chili in the Freak'n Universe".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I love this recipe. i used chipotle chile peppers instead of regular chile peppers. It added an amazing flavor to the chili. spicy but sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
My mom could not believe there wasn't any beef in this dish and my friend who absolutely hates beans, loved it. They said this is the best chili they've eaten. Very tasty, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Make this all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I really enjoyed this chili as did my family. I had to omit the chili peppers and the jalepenos, but the black pepper and the chili powder did a great job giving it some kick. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I don't usually write reviews when I alter a recipe considerably. I'm doing it for this one because the ingredients I used were mostly the same, I just used dried beans instead. I did add a few extras and subbed the crumbles with brown rice due to what I had on hand. I made 8 qts. for freezing and upped the heat level due to preference. I used 1c each of (dried) black beans, garbanzo, pinto, and northern beans. I did a fast soak. While the beans were soaking, I made a veggie stock from the ends of onions, celery, and carrots that I freeze from other meals, along with 6 red chiles. Strain the stock when it's ready. When the beans were done soaking I strained and rinsed them, and added them to the stock. I added the bay leaves and 2 dried, whole Ancho peppers (remove these with the bay leaves at end). I sauteed the onions, celery, bell peppers (only had colored bells), and garlic before I added it in. Then I sauteed the jalapenos quickly with about a half cup of finely chopped cilantro. I added the other seasonings to the jalapenos to wake them up for about 30 secs, then added to chili. I doubled all seasonings, and added 1tsp of smoked paprika. Brought to a boil, then simmered for an 1hr 30 mins. I subbed 2c dried brown rice, and let it simmer 30 mins more. All other ingredients were the same, it's super yummy. If you try this add salt as you go since the beans aren't canned. Hope my changes help someone who wants to try it with dried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rozekitten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Peppermint Patty
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
We are not vegetarians. We like this recipe although I admit I made adjustments. It is a great recipe to adjust to your liking and family size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I loved this chili, it was so good. I only used one bag of veggie crumbles and I use fresh tomatoes instead of canned but it might be my favorite vegetarian chili recipe so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
This chili is delicious! I de-seeded the jalapenos to cut down the spice factor, which seemed to work really well for a mild to medium heat. I drained all of the beans and corn and used 28 oz cans of crushed tomatoes since I didn't see the original cook's note on here about hand-crushing the whole peeled tomatoes. It turned out to be a thick, hearty chili that you can eat by the spoonful or wrap up in a tortilla. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 960) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States