The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
This recipe is great!! Everyone, even the meat eaters I know, love this chili. My sister is a huge meat eater and refused to try this the first couple times I made it wanting the meat but one bite changed her mind. I did change the recipe up slightly to suit my taste. I eliminate the vegetarian crumbles and instead add a can of lentils. I add an extra can of beans (usually white beans) and 1/4 cup brown sugar (which I used at the advice of other reviewers). If I'm making it for kids or anyone who doesn't like too much spice I eliminate the jalapenos, it still has a little zip but nothing overpowering. Again, wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This has been my go-to crowd pleaser for years. I follow the recipe as is and ALWAYS receive a ton of compliments. Thank you! Once I swapped the boca crumbles with 2 packages of ground turkey. It worked perfectly! For a crowd I like to put out little bowls of sour cream, chives, shredded cheddar, and cornbread. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Even my meat loving boyfriend liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nica

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Managua, Managua, Nicaragua
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Made this last night for the first time. I'm 90% vegetarian and thought this would be a good hearty meal and was quite happy with it. I was afraid that the meatless part would be textured in a weird way but it was fine (I used Trader Joe's Meatless Meatballs). It was nice and thick and filling. The only thing I did was up the heat with red chili sauce and added some elbow macaroni. I have enough for the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I thought this chili was excellent! Mine came out a bit watery for my taste, so I added a can of tomato paste. I also didn't use as much salt as it called for. Seemed like quite a bit. Everyone is different with their salt taste preference as well, so I think it's better to start with a bit less. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Fultz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Yes, this is the best chili in the world!! However, I exclude the garbanzo beans and veggie burger crumbles (just not a fan in general). I double up on the black & kidney beans and add chili beans - so I put in about 5 cans of beans total. Also, I exclude the tomatoes and add tomato sauce & ketchup to give it the tomato-y taste. I make this batch for myself, then make another batch for my husband and just had turkey or hamburger. Perfect for a nice chilly (no pun intended) evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Harms

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This chili is so good, probably the best chili I've had. I made homemade "ground beef" using a cauliflower based recipe, and you would have never known it didn't have real meat in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Lewis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Are you sure the amts are correct? This is seriously hot!!! I think the chili powder amt is incorrect; I put in only an 1/8 cup of chili powder and it was still smoking hot! Have tried potato,yogurt and adding more tomatoes but to no avail. It's a recipe for eight and I will have to throw out as no one can eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
So great and super healthy! I used low sodium fire roasted tomatoes and also added spicy tomato juice for liquid and flavor. Adding carrots and zucchini made this a summer favorite at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I freaking LOVE this recipe! I've made it about six times now, and there are a few things I tweak. I use mushrooms, more tomatoes, and fewer cans of beans. I also add another bay leaf in there. Amazing with extra sharp cheddar and avocado slices on top. Ugh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niamh Falter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 987) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States