The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
It REALLY IS the best vegetarian chili ever made. I prefer this recipe over REGULAR chili! I can eat this every day, no problem! It's just perfect. Sometimes I cut out a jalapeño, or add fresh okra. As long as you keep the seasoning consistent, tomatoes, and beans you'll be very pleased with the end result. Wish I had some of this right now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
Very good, with 3 adjustments: 1. Used dried beans, soaked them overnight, then cooked them for 60 to 75 minutes. Much better and less salt. 2. used skinned tomatoes, quartered. Before adding the beans & corn, used a potato masher to mush up the the tomatoes & mix. 3. Used dried lentils to adjust consistency (depends on type of tomato).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
It was okay. Very flavorful but not the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
I really enjoyed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Actually the only change I made was not adding the vegetarian crumbles. It tastes great as a true non meat chili. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Unless you're a hardcore lover of spicy food, a quarter cup of chili powder is WAY too much! But if you make the rest of the recipe first and then just add enough chili powder at the end to get the heat you want, it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
This chili was absolutely amazing. My mom made it so that I would have something quick to pull out of the freezer when I'm visiting my parents' house. She did make a few changes to the recipe which in my opinion were good changes. She left out the meat replacement crumble as I am not a fan of processed foods and meat replacements, left out the tablespoon of salt (really who needs that much salt?), she also left out the jalapeno peppers so that it wasn't too spicy for my brother's children - at dinner time I just added a ton of red pepper flakes to my bowl because I love spicy food. She used 1 can whole crushed tomatoes and 3 cans of diced tomatoes instead of what the recipe called for, rinsed the beans VERY well and also added mushrooms and 3 more tbsp of chili powder. The chili ended up delicious and thick and was well loved by everyone, even the meat eaters in the family! Don't be fooled by the "8 servings" listed on the recipe, unless you want to eat a serving that would fill a mixing bowl - this definitely ended up being more like 20 servings. And there's nothing wrong with that because now there will always be chili in the freezer! On the sodium note: with the changes my mom made it brought the sodium per serving down to ~450 which is much better than 1600-2500!! You could cut the sodium down even more by using cans of beans and tomatoes labeled with "no added sodium."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
I love this recipe, the only thing I do is less chili powder as I'm not a firehouse chili person, this can be adjusted to personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnne Harrison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
I just made this for a dinner for international students. I followed the recipe exactly and it is absolutely delicious! I'll be making chili with meat also with my own recipe which is very good. I have a feeling the vegetarian chili is going to be the star of the show though. Really excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Excellent recipe! Lends itself to optional changes & personalization, which I like. Very healthy and I crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,036) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States